How To Have Latest KDE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

How To Have Latest KDE

Postby samihassan » Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:36 am

Hi Everyone,

I am new to linux world and loving KDE and mint so far. Can i have have the latest kde using some repo or any other way. I am using Serena 18.1 KDE. I have tried to following but no success. I already have kubuntu backports (But They dont offer latest one i guess)

$ sudo apt-add-repository http://archive.neon.kde.org/user
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install neon-desktop

User avatar
phd21
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4298
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby phd21 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:04 pm

Hi "samihassan",

Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux Mint and its excellent forum !

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" from the console terminal prompt, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information.

I would have a good backup before trying to force a major desktop upgrade into your current Linux Mint system. When the Linux Mint / Kubuntu people have this newer KDE Plasma update available, then anyone can update to it through your Mint Update Manager...

Upgrade/Install Latest KDE Plasma 5.x in Kubuntu 16.10/16.04/Ubuntu 16.10 Yakkety/16.04 Xenial
http://www.noobslab.com/2017/02/upgradeinstall-latest-kde-plasma-5x-in.html

KDE Plasma 5.10 Released, This Is What’s New, May 30, 2017
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2017/05/kde-plasma-5-10-features

KDE Plasma 5.10 Puts Folders on Linux Desktop, Improves Search, June 02, 2017
http://www.eweek.com/enterprise-apps/kde-plasma-5.10-puts-folders-on-linux-desktop-improves-search

KDE - Release Announcements - Plasma 5.10.0
https://www.kde.org/announcements/plasma-5.10.0.php

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.1, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,3gb Ram,160gb hdd, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
MintBean
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1631
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby MintBean » Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:18 pm

Why not use the distro focussed on providing the most up-to-date KDE experience out of the box?
https://neon.kde.org/

mr_raider
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 785
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby mr_raider » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:12 pm

Here are all the kubuntu PPAs:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Repositories/Kubuntu


Now go break your desktop environment!
Image

Hoser Rob
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby Hoser Rob » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:20 pm

mr_raider wrote:... Now go break your desktop environment!


That's about it ... one of the things about Linux is that you're always trying to strike a balance between stability and having new verisons of software. And to be honest, this is because backwards and forwards compatibility don't work very well.

Mint (and other LTS distros) are made for stability. But you don't get the newest versions of most software. If you install a rolling release distro like Arch you will get the newest versions of everything but you can expect updates to break things, and since these distros are aimed at the more expert, you won't get that much help to fix it.

So I'd say IF you have a spare computer you don't need, go for it.

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby samihassan » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:58 am

Thank you very much for your kind replies. Attached is the result for the command. If i move to NEON distro i have to reinstall everything which obviously i dont want. Just curious whether is it possible to add neon repo. At the moment i cannot do that as it says this repo doesn't support Xenial


System: Host: sami-H67M-D2-B3 Kernel: 4.4.0-79-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.7 (Qt 5.6.1) Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Machine: Mobo: Gigabyte model: H67M-D2-B3 v: x.x Bios: Award v: F5 date: 10/24/2011
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-2500 (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 26339
clock speeds: max: 3700 MHz 1: 1657 MHz 2: 1697 MHz 3: 1606 MHz 4: 1695 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF114 [GeForce GTX 560] bus-ID: 01:00.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1280x1024@60.02hz
GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NVCE GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card-1 NVIDIA GF114 HDMI Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
Card-2 Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-79-generic
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: ee00 bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (28.9% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST1000DM003 size: 1000.2GB
Optical: /dev/sr0 model: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24NS70 rev: GN01 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
Features: speed: 48x multisession: yes
audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition: ID-1: / size: 184G used: 22G (13%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
ID-2: /home size: 725G used: 239G (35%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
ID-3: swap-1 size: 10.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 202 Uptime: 3:50 Memory: 4196.7/7966.6MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35

User avatar
phd21
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4298
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby phd21 » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:18 am

Hi "samihassan",

As I and others have already stated, forcing the newer KDE Plasma 5 into your current Linux Mint system is not a good idea, and may not give you the most current version right away. According to the links I already gave you, if you still want to try this, it requires installing the "kubuntu-desktop" not "Neon".

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop


From the results of the "inxi -Fxzd" terminal command, it looks like you are not using the Nvidia video drivers which would work better in most instances, see below.

samihassan wrote:Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF114 [GeForce GTX 560] bus-ID: 01:00.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1280x1024@60.02hz
GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NVCE GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes


NVIDIA: how to install the latest video card drivers
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/12

To install the Nvidia driver for your video card using this PPA method, open a console terminal, type in, or copy & paste, each line below one by one, then restart your computer:

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:graphics-drivers/ppa

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install nvidia-375



Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.1, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,3gb Ram,160gb hdd, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby samihassan » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:29 am

Thanks all for the answers but thats not what i am looking for..... Latest KDE how can i have that in Linux Mint is the question ......

User avatar
phd21
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4298
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby phd21 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:42 am

Hi "samihassan",

You are welcome, and I already answered that in my last post first paragraph; install "kubuntu-desktop" is what the link said to do.
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.1, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,3gb Ram,160gb hdd, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby samihassan » Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:41 am

Thanks , I will stick to stability then :)...

mr_raider
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 785
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby mr_raider » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:17 am

samihassan wrote:Thanks , I will stick to stability then :)...


Try out KDE NEON in a virtualbox machine if you like. KDE 5.10 is pretty slick. I doubt we will see in the Mint 18 series, since KDE 5.8.x is the LTS support KDE version. Note that Mint KDE already has the kubuntu backports PPA enabled by default, so you are still getting a newer version of KDE than when 16.04 shipped originally.
Image

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Postby samihassan » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:52 am

mr_raider wrote:
samihassan wrote:Thanks , I will stick to stability then :)...


Try out KDE NEON in a virtualbox machine if you like. KDE 5.10 is pretty slick. I doubt we will see in the Mint 18 series, since KDE 5.8.x is the LTS support KDE version. Note that Mint KDE already has the kubuntu backports PPA enabled by default, so you are still getting a newer version of KDE than when 16.04 shipped originally.


Yes thats what i was thinking. I will try kde neon for sure thats exactly what i am looking for.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests