First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please(SOLVED thanks to everyone)

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
deepakdeshp
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9382
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by deepakdeshp »

For the browser start a new thread .
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

Mint 20.1 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20.1 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U/8gb
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6914
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyMH »

No, it could still be related to the monitor issue, so stick with it for the present. If not, then yes new topic.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
User avatar
SMG
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5593
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by SMG »

AndyHCMC wrote:
Tue May 11, 2021 10:25 pm
I managed to add mode and it was in display - when I clicked apply screen went black,, I waited and screen came back with previous resolution.
On reboot the added resolution of 3440x1440 was not there any more.
It sounds like you are repeating the same steps over and over, but expecting to get different results? Or are you trying something different each time?
AndyHCMC wrote:
Tue May 11, 2021 10:25 pm
I wish I had somehow saved the resolution and frez when I was in wndows BEFORE I erased it all and installed Linux.
Does that mean you may not have been using the max capabilities of the monitor when in Windows?

Have you tried 3440x1440 at 30Hz in Mint?
AndyHCMC wrote:
Tue May 11, 2021 11:52 pm
I was installing "Brave Browser for Linux" and I got these errors come up - it mentions fglrx-core is not configured yet? on googling fglrx (yes i'm that new) turns out it's for ATI cards,,,,
Is this anything to do with why I cant get 3440x1440 working?
What "Brave Browser for LInux" were you installing? Did you get it in Synaptic Package Manger? One has to make sure they are using the correct version for the version of Mint being used.

fglrx was for ATI cards. It's my understanding that is no longer supported (and has not been for quite a few years), so it's possible you are getting the error because you may be using the wrong "Brave Browser for Linux".

Please supply the current output of inxi -Gx. The earlier output you supplied was for the 5.4 kernel and it appeared everything was installed correctly. However, it is possible there are different drivers for your card in the 5.8 kernel.

Please also use this command in a terminal to upload the X Server log file to termbin:
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | nc termbin.com 9999
It will return with a url address that you should post in your next reply.
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
AndyHCMC
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 11:09 pm

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyHCMC »

Hi thanks for helping,

I was trying the diff code that was given, and managed to get it to add to "display" the early tries just gave a black screen and didnt add anything to "display".

Re: Brave - I used it on windows had a great VPN built in,, as for version etc for linux I'm only new so no idea whhere what why which I am clicking on when I searched for it on google it just gave me a page and i did what it said to install and threw out error message.

It's not important iin the scheme of things it's just that it mention config not being installed so I copy/pasted it in case it was why I cant get 3440x1440 working.

I was using 3440x1440 (which is listed as the default by AOC) on windows since I bought monitor in 2014 what frequency I never looked so no idea,, I used Display Port when gaming and went to HDMI when the cable was damaged during transit moving to HCMC, since 2018 i've used a hdmi cable with 3440x1440 no problems. with ati catalyst driver suite of drivers and software, which I understand does not work or gives errors and the inbuilt driver is more compatable with linux mint?

here is info:
Graphics:
Device-1: AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750] vendor: Gigabyte driver: radeon
v: kernel bus ID: 26:00.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.9 driver: ati,radeon
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD JUNIPER (DRM 2.50.0 / 5.8.0-53-generic LLVM 11.0.0)
v: 3.3 Mesa 20.2.6 direct render: Yes


I have no idea what "X Server log file to termbin" is but here is info :
https://termbin.com/hhnh
Desktop computer running - Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon 4.8.6 - Hardware: MSI B450M MORTAT MAX, Amd Ryzen5 2600, AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750], Drives Samsung model: NVMe 250 GiB & Seagate 500 GiB sata, 16 Gb Memory, AOC 34" monitor.
User avatar
SMG
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5593
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by SMG »

AndyHCMC wrote:
Wed May 12, 2021 8:35 am
I was trying the diff code that was given, and managed to get it to add to "display" the early tries just gave a black screen and didnt add anything to "display".
So you were trying the options in the roblm post? Just wanted to get an idea of what you were trying so we might know what to recommend next if that did not work.
AndyHCMC wrote:
Wed May 12, 2021 8:35 am
Re: Brave - I used it on windows had a great VPN built in,, as for version etc for linux I'm only new so no idea whhere what why which I am clicking on when I searched for it on google it just gave me a page and i did what it said to install and threw out error message.

It's not important iin the scheme of things it's just that it mention config not being installed so I copy/pasted it in case it was why I cant get 3440x1440 working.
People use Brave on Mint. One just has to make sure they are using the correct version. If you search for Brave on Windows and find and install the Windows XP version on your Windows 10 install, then you are likely to get errors.

From what I could find, the fglrx Catalyst ATI driver was last supported on Ubuntu 14.04. You are using Mint which is based on Ubuntu 20.04. That makes me suspect you did not have the correct version of Brave, but I do not use Brave so I do not know for sure.
AndyHCMC wrote:
Wed May 12, 2021 8:35 am
I was using 3440x1440 (which is listed as the default by AOC) on windows since I bought monitor in 2014 what frequency I never looked so no idea,, I used Display Port when gaming and went to HDMI when the cable was damaged during transit moving to HCMC, since 2018 i've used a hdmi cable with 3440x1440 no problems.
The capabilities of Displayport and HDMI are not necessarily the same on a graphics card. One can only get what the graphics card is capable of doing and what the cable (HDMI or Displayport) is capable of passing to the monitor.

This is what you want to see for graphics info. You are using the radeon display driver and the AMD JUNIPER renderer. That renderer is capable of hardware acceleration and should not have a problem running Brave.

Code: Select all

Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750] vendor: Gigabyte driver: radeon 
  v: kernel bus ID: 26:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.9 driver: ati,radeon 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: AMD JUNIPER (DRM 2.50.0 / 5.8.0-53-generic LLVM 11.0.0) 
  v: 3.3 Mesa 20.2.6 direct render: Yes 
AndyHCMC wrote:
Wed May 12, 2021 8:35 am
I have no idea what "X Server log file to termbin" is but here is info :
https://termbin.com/hhnh
X Server runs the graphics. I wanted to check to make sure 3-D acceleration was showing as enabled and it is.

Code: Select all

[     5.161] (II) RADEON(0): glamor X acceleration enabled on AMD JUNIPER (DRM 2.50.0 / 5.8.0-53-generic, LLVM 11.0.0)
 ...
[     5.436] (==) RADEON(0): DRI3 enabled
I do not see any errors in the file.

The probed modelines listed for the monitor appear to be the same ones xrandr --verbose offered.

Code: Select all

[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Printing probed modes for output HDMI-0
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x60.0  148.50  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync (67.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x50.0  148.50  1920 2448 2492 2640  1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync (56.2 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x59.9  148.35  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync (67.4 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080i"x60.0   74.25  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1094 1125 interlace +hsync +vsync (33.8 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080i"x50.0   74.25  1920 2448 2492 2640  1080 1084 1094 1125 interlace +hsync +vsync (28.1 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080i"x59.9   74.18  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1094 1125 interlace +hsync +vsync (33.7 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1680x1050"x59.9  119.00  1680 1728 1760 1840  1050 1053 1059 1080 +hsync -vsync (64.7 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x1024"x75.0  135.00  1280 1296 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync (80.0 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x1024"x60.0  108.00  1280 1328 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync (64.0 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1440x900"x59.9   88.75  1440 1488 1520 1600  900 903 909 926 +hsync -vsync (55.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x960"x60.0  108.00  1280 1376 1488 1800  960 961 964 1000 +hsync +vsync (60.0 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x720"x60.0   74.25  1280 1390 1430 1650  720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync (45.0 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x720"x50.0   74.25  1280 1720 1760 1980  720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync (37.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x720"x59.9   74.18  1280 1390 1430 1650  720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync (45.0 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1024x768"x75.0   78.75  1024 1040 1136 1312  768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync (60.0 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1024x768"x70.1   75.00  1024 1048 1184 1328  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (56.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1024x768"x60.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "832x624"x74.6   57.28  832 864 928 1152  624 625 628 667 -hsync -vsync (49.7 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x72.2   50.00  800 856 976 1040  600 637 643 666 +hsync +vsync (48.1 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x75.0   49.50  800 816 896 1056  600 601 604 625 +hsync +vsync (46.9 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x60.3   40.00  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x56.2   36.00  800 824 896 1024  600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync (35.2 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "720x576"x50.0   27.00  720 732 796 864  576 581 586 625 -hsync -vsync (31.2 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "720x480"x60.0   27.03  720 736 798 858  480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "720x480"x59.9   27.00  720 736 798 858  480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x75.0   31.50  640 656 720 840  480 481 484 500 -hsync -vsync (37.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x72.8   31.50  640 664 704 832  480 489 492 520 -hsync -vsync (37.9 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x66.7   30.24  640 704 768 864  480 483 486 525 -hsync -vsync (35.0 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x60.0   25.20  640 656 752 800  480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x59.9   25.18  640 656 752 800  480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[     5.401] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "720x400"x70.1   28.32  720 738 846 900  400 412 414 449 -hsync +vsync (31.5 kHz e)
At the end of the file, the X Server starts looping on DDC gathered modelines. That does seem to have the 3440x1440, but not at 60Hz. If you have not tried the 3440x1440 modeline listed below, maybe that is the next one to try.

Code: Select all

[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): EDID vendor "AOC", prod id 13431
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Using EDID range info for horizontal sync
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Using EDID range info for vertical refresh
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "3440x1440"x0.0  209.75  3440 3696 4064 4688  1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync (44.7 kHz eP)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "2560x1080"x0.0  181.25  2560 2608 2640 2720  1080 1083 1093 1111 +hsync -vsync (66.6 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x0.0  148.50  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync (67.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x720"x0.0   74.25  1280 1390 1430 1650  720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync (45.0 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "720x480"x0.0   27.00  720 736 798 858  480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "720x576"x0.0   27.00  720 732 796 864  576 581 586 625 -hsync -vsync (31.2 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1720x1440"x0.0  209.75  1720 1848 2032 2344  1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync (89.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x0.0  148.50  1920 2448 2492 2640  1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync (56.2 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080i"x0.0   74.25  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1094 1125 interlace +hsync +vsync (33.8 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080i"x0.0   74.25  1920 2448 2492 2640  1080 1084 1094 1125 interlace +hsync +vsync (28.1 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x720"x0.0   74.25  1280 1720 1760 1980  720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync (37.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x0.0   25.18  640 656 752 800  480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x0.0   40.00  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x0.0   36.00  800 824 896 1024  600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync (35.2 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x0.0   31.50  640 656 720 840  480 481 484 500 -hsync -vsync (37.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x0.0   31.50  640 664 704 832  480 489 492 520 -hsync -vsync (37.9 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x0.0   30.24  640 704 768 864  480 483 486 525 -hsync -vsync (35.0 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "720x400"x0.0   28.32  720 738 846 900  400 412 414 449 -hsync +vsync (31.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x1024"x0.0  135.00  1280 1296 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync (80.0 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1024x768"x0.0   78.75  1024 1040 1136 1312  768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync (60.0 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1024x768"x0.0   75.00  1024 1048 1184 1328  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (56.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1024x768"x0.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "832x624"x0.0   57.28  832 864 928 1152  624 625 628 667 -hsync -vsync (49.7 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x0.0   49.50  800 816 896 1056  600 601 604 625 +hsync +vsync (46.9 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x0.0   50.00  800 856 976 1040  600 637 643 666 +hsync +vsync (48.1 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1680x1050"x0.0  119.00  1680 1728 1760 1840  1050 1053 1059 1080 +hsync -vsync (64.7 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1440x900"x0.0   88.75  1440 1488 1520 1600  900 903 909 926 +hsync -vsync (55.5 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x1024"x0.0  108.00  1280 1328 1440 1688  1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync (64.0 kHz e)
[    23.858] (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x960"x0.0  108.00  1280 1376 1488 1800  960 961 964 1000 +hsync +vsync (60.0 kHz e)
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
AndyHCMC
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 11:09 pm

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyHCMC »

Hi,

Thank you for your detailed answer, I am getting used to the many flavours of Linux and having to get the exact family group for each install something I didnt have to do with windows it was win 10 32bit or win 10 64bit,,,, I will make sure I am trying to install the correct version going forward.

The code you pointed out.
"3440x1440"x0.0 209.75 3440 3696 4064 4688 1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync (44.7 kHz eP)
I am unsure what I do next I tried:-

xrandr --newmode "3440x1440"x0.0 209.75 3440 3696 4064 4688 1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync (44.7 kHz eP)
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `('
andrew@andrew-MS-7B89:~$ "3440x1440"x0.0 209.75 3440 3696 4064 4688 1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync
3440x1440x0.0: command not found
andrew@andrew-MS-7B89:~$ "3440x1440"x0.0 209.75 3440 3696 4064 4688 1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync
3440x1440x0.0: command not found
andrew@andrew-MS-7B89:~$ "3440x1440" 209.75 3440 3696 4064 4688 1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync
3440x1440: command not found
andrew@andrew-MS-7B89:~$ "3440x1440_44.7" 209.75 3440 3696 4064 4688 1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync
3440x1440_44.7: command not found

Please forgive my ignorance as to how to try what you pointed out I dont understand what parts of the information I have to give it to make things happen :(
Desktop computer running - Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon 4.8.6 - Hardware: MSI B450M MORTAT MAX, Amd Ryzen5 2600, AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750], Drives Samsung model: NVMe 250 GiB & Seagate 500 GiB sata, 16 Gb Memory, AOC 34" monitor.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6914
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyMH »

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "3440x1440" 209.75  3440 3696 4064 4688  1440 1443 1453 1493 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode HDMI-0 "3440x1440"
xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode "3440x1440"
for 3440x14400 at 44.7kHz, only slightly different to the one you got from the EDID.

You could also try cvt 3440 1440 -r, to get a modeline for reduced blanking, e.g.

Code: Select all

andy@T432 ~ $ cvt 3440 1440 -r
# 3440x1440 59.97 Hz (CVT) hsync: 88.82 kHz; pclk: 319.75 MHz
Modeline "3440x1440R"  319.75  3440 3488 3520 3600  1440 1443 1453 1481 +hsync -vsync
I assuming that you will probably get a different modeline to the above, so replace it in below

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "3440x1440R"  319.75  3440 3488 3520 3600  1440 1443 1453 1481 +hsync -vsync
xrandr --addmode HDMI-0 "3440x1440"
xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode "3440x1440"
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
AndyHCMC
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 11:09 pm

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyHCMC »

I managed to get 3440x1440 working with this :-
xrandr --newmode "3440x1440_29.99" 157.75 3440 3520 3552 3600 1440 1448 1458 1461 +HSync -VSync
xrandr --addmode HDMI-0 3440x1440_29.99

works great I had to increase font size to 1.2x but crisp and clear.

Only problem now is on reboot it's not there anymore.
Desktop computer running - Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon 4.8.6 - Hardware: MSI B450M MORTAT MAX, Amd Ryzen5 2600, AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750], Drives Samsung model: NVMe 250 GiB & Seagate 500 GiB sata, 16 Gb Memory, AOC 34" monitor.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6914
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyMH »

viewtopic.php?p=2015036#p2015036
gives you what you need.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
AndyHCMC
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 11:09 pm

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyHCMC »

Hi, I tried this but no luck- screen black on reboot - had to delete so I could restart.
Create a new file in /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf.d, mine is 71-linuxmint.conf

[SeatDefaults]
user-session=cinnamon
display-setup-script=/usr/bin/AOCmonitor.bsh

Contents of AOCmonitor.bsh


#!/bin/bash
xrandr --newmode "3440x1440_29.99" 157.75 3440 3520 3552 3600 1440 1448 1458 1461 +HSync -VSync
xrandr --addmode HDMI-0 3440x1440_29.99
xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode 3440x1440_29.99
Desktop computer running - Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon 4.8.6 - Hardware: MSI B450M MORTAT MAX, Amd Ryzen5 2600, AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750], Drives Samsung model: NVMe 250 GiB & Seagate 500 GiB sata, 16 Gb Memory, AOC 34" monitor.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6914
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyMH »

Did you make your script executable?
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
AndyHCMC
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 11:09 pm

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyHCMC »

hahahahhaha no
Desktop computer running - Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon 4.8.6 - Hardware: MSI B450M MORTAT MAX, Amd Ryzen5 2600, AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750], Drives Samsung model: NVMe 250 GiB & Seagate 500 GiB sata, 16 Gb Memory, AOC 34" monitor.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6914
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyMH »

I have done that several times with fresh installs! Hence the comment about having an install stick to hand :D
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
AndyHCMC
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 11:09 pm

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please

Post by AndyHCMC »

Yep worked thank you.
Desktop computer running - Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon 4.8.6 - Hardware: MSI B450M MORTAT MAX, Amd Ryzen5 2600, AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750], Drives Samsung model: NVMe 250 GiB & Seagate 500 GiB sata, 16 Gb Memory, AOC 34" monitor.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6914
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please(SOLVED thanks to everyone)

Post by AndyMH »

Can you go back to your first post, click on the edit button (the pencil) and add [solved] into the title.

After the problems I had with my LG monitor, when I bought another monitor I specifically looked for linux compatibility before I bought to save the hassle I had and you've had. There was an amazon review of the AOC (34" 2560x1440) I bought saying it worked and it did. Something for next time.

Now what's your next question/problem... :D
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
AndyHCMC
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 11:09 pm

Re: First Time Linux user - Help with graphics please(SOLVED thanks to everyone)

Post by AndyHCMC »

yes done,,
next problem is i keep getting an error on updating about fglrx-core, I will have to grab a copy of what it says and do a new thread,, thanks for all your help.
Desktop computer running - Linux Mint 20.1 Cinnamon 4.8.6 - Hardware: MSI B450M MORTAT MAX, Amd Ryzen5 2600, AMD Juniper PRO [Radeon HD 5750], Drives Samsung model: NVMe 250 GiB & Seagate 500 GiB sata, 16 Gb Memory, AOC 34" monitor.
Post Reply