Main drive is in Root?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
FUBAR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:19 am

Main drive is in Root?

Post by FUBAR »

mounted at root.png
can't mount ssd.png
What does this mean please?
motoryzen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by motoryzen »

Odd. It says it mounted at the exact same location mine is and my system and everything in it is working like a champ.

Did you do anything special such as selecting "Something Else" during the Linux Mint installation wizard?

I have LM 20.3 cinnamon installed into my corsair MP600 PRO XT 4TB nvme ssd and mine has a 1.0MB partition with a partition type of BIOS boot with the same 538MB partition mounted at /boot/efi ( thus installed via UEFI..not legacy) and the one you have highlighted on your part ...looks PRECISELY like mine ( obviously a different UUID though) but all other symbols etc..

Are you able to post your system information? If so please post the results of inxi -Fxxxmprz

Step 5 in the " how to get help ' blue colored link above explains how to do it. I recommend you press that space bar twice after clicking on the </> button ( fifth from the left above the white message window) so it gives you more space to more easily aim your pasting of that command's results

If you're not big on using the terminal and you're able to open the cinnamon menu ( icon at the bottom left corner on your panel at the bottom) search for " system info" , after selecting it. left click on that " Upload information" button, give it 3 to 13 seconds.and an internet tab/webpage talking about " termbin.com " will load and you can highlight all of that info there, copy it, come back here and paste it between the two |quote| | quote| that showed up after you clicked that </> button. ( this makes it easier to scroll through and read your system's info without it taking up much room on this webpage.

Don't worry though it won't post any personally identifiable info either, but this info usually helps narrow down many problems and saves on much speculation.

Often it's people like smg, rene, andyMH, all41, xenopeek, and many other awesome folks here that are quick to jump in and figure it out.

==- I'm also curious if you're trying to mount an external drive that has a file type of NTFS using Linux software tools like a specific way using Gparted or Disks ( aka gnome-disks). another forum member encountered an odd issue involving some of that many years ago but determined the need to use TeskDisk to recover files and reformat the drive, but the OP there didn't specify what he or she reformated it to

viewtopic.php?t=169719

Here's my inxi -Fxxxmprz info

Code: Select all

 System:    Kernel: 5.15.0-43-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: N/A Desktop: Cinnamon 5.2.7 wm: muffin 5.2.1 dm: LightDM 1.30.0 
           Distro: Linux Mint 20.3 Una base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASRock model: X570 Taichi serial: <filter> BIOS: American Megatrends v: P4.40 date: 06/23/2021 
Memory:    RAM: total: 125.73 GiB used: 3.92 GiB (3.1%) 
           RAM Report: permissions: Unable to run dmidecode. Root privileges required. 
CPU:       Topology: 12-Core model: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen 3 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
           flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 177604 
           Speed: 2239 MHz min/max: 2200/3700 MHz boost: enabled Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2239 2: 2793 3: 2199 4: 2198 5: 2230 
           6: 2798 7: 2237 8: 2231 9: 2238 10: 2235 11: 2198 12: 2199 13: 2240 14: 2199 15: 2199 16: 2200 17: 2198 18: 2193 
           19: 2256 20: 2195 21: 2199 22: 2211 23: 2222 24: 2199 
Graphics:  Device-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] 
           vendor: Sapphire Limited Nitro+ driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 0c:00.0 chip ID: 1002:67df 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.13 driver: amdgpu,ati unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 3840x2160~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon RX 580 Series (polaris10 LLVM 14.0.0 DRM 3.42 5.15.0-43-generic) 
           v: 4.6 Mesa 22.2.0-devel (git-fffafa3 2022-05-17 focal-oibaf-ppa) direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: AMD Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590] vendor: Sapphire Limited driver: snd_hda_intel 
           v: kernel bus ID: 0c:00.1 chip ID: 1002:aaf0 
           Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Starship/Matisse HD Audio vendor: ASRock driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 0e:00.4 chip ID: 1022:1487 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.15.0-43-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Intel I211 Gigabit Network vendor: ASRock driver: igb v: kernel port: f000 bus ID: 06:00.0 
           chip ID: 8086:1539 
           IF: enp6s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 22.74 TiB used: 11.63 TiB (51.1%) 
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Corsair model: MP600 PRO XT size: 3.64 TiB speed: 63.2 Gb/s lanes: 4 serial: <filter> 
           rev: EIFM31.2 scheme: GPT 
           ID-2: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: SSD 860 EVO 4TB size: 3.64 TiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> rev: 4B6Q 
           scheme: GPT 
           ID-3: /dev/sdb vendor: Samsung model: SSD 860 EVO 1TB size: 931.51 GiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> rev: 3B6Q 
           scheme: MBR 
           ID-4: /dev/sdc vendor: Toshiba model: HDWR31G size: 14.55 TiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s rotation: 7200 rpm serial: <filter> 
           rev: 0601 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 3.58 TiB used: 977.27 GiB (26.7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p3 
           ID-2: /boot/efi size: 512.0 MiB used: 4 KiB (0.0%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 
           ID-3: /mnt/16TB Toshiba hdd size: 14.44 TiB used: 10.55 TiB (73.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc 
           ID-4: /mnt/GoPro 1TB Backup size: 915.82 GiB used: 127.37 GiB (13.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1 
Sensors:   Message: No sensors data was found. Is sensors configured? 
Repos:     No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/c_falco-mame-focal.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/c.falco/mame/ubuntu focal main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/cappelikan-ppa-focal.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/cappelikan/ppa/ubuntu focal main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
           1: deb [arch=amd64] https://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/lunarg-vulkan-1.3.211-focal.list 
           1: deb https://packages.lunarg.com/vulkan/1.3.211 focal main
           2: deb-src https://packages.lunarg.com/vulkan/1.3.211 focal main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/lutris-team-lutris-focal.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/lutris-team/lutris/ubuntu focal main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
           1: deb http://packages.linuxmint.com una main upstream import backport
           2: deb http://mirror.cogentco.com/pub/linux/ubuntu focal main restricted universe multiverse
           3: deb http://mirror.cogentco.com/pub/linux/ubuntu focal-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           4: deb http://mirror.cogentco.com/pub/linux/ubuntu focal-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ focal-security main restricted universe multiverse
           6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ focal partner
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oibaf-graphics-drivers-focal.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/oibaf/graphics-drivers/ubuntu focal main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/openshot_developers-ppa-focal.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/openshot.developers/ppa/ubuntu focal main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/teamviewer.list 
           1: deb https://linux.teamviewer.com/deb stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/winehq-focal.sources 
           1: deb [arch=amd64 i386] https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu focal main
Info:      Processes: 438 Uptime: 3h 15m Init: systemd v: 245 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.4.0 alt: 8/9 Shell: bash v: 5.0.17 
           running in: gnome-terminal inxi: 3.0.38 
pbear
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6559
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by pbear »

What are you doing to which the second screenshot is the response?
FUBAR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:19 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by FUBAR »

Hi. I will work up some screen shots and computer specs and post back.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10239
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by AndyMH »

I suspect you clicked on computer and then clicked on your system drive:
Screenshot from 2022-08-06 15-55-27.png
You cannot mount a drive, you can only mount a partition.

I do wish mint would dump 'computer', it doesn't behave like 'my computer' (or whatever it is now called) in win. Everything you need to do you can do with your file manager.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 4 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 20.1, 2 x i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19963
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by Cosmo. »

FUBAR wrote:
Sat Aug 06, 2022 9:59 am
Hi. I will work up some screen shots and computer specs and post back.
We do not need screen shots, but the simple answer for the question by pbear. Otherwise we run in wild speculations.
FUBAR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:19 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by FUBAR »

System: Kernel: 5.15.0-43-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: N/A Desktop: MATE 1.26.0 wm: marco
dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 20.3 Una base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal
Machine: Type: Desktop System: ASUS product: N/A v: N/A serial: <filter>
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: ROG STRIX Z590-E GAMING WIFI v: Rev 1.xx serial: <filter>
UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1402 date: 01/27/2022
CPU: Topology: 6-Core model: 11th Gen Intel Core i5-11600KF bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: N/A
L2 cache: 12.0 MiB
flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 93888
Speed: 4600 MHz min/max: 800/4900 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 4597 2: 2511 3: 4592
4: 4593 5: 4704 6: 4897 7: 4600 8: 4783 9: 4600 10: 4779 11: 4600 12: 4786
Graphics: Device-1: AMD vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 03:00.0
chip ID: 1002:743f
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.13 driver: amdgpu,ati
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,radeon,vesa compositor: marco resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD BEIGE_GOBY (DRM 3.42.0 5.15.0-43-generic LLVM 12.0.0)
v: 4.6 Mesa 21.2.6 direct render: Yes
Audio: Device-1: Intel vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1f.3
chip ID: 8086:43c8
Device-2: AMD driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 03:00.1 chip ID: 1002:ab28
Device-3: ASUSTek USB Audio type: USB driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid
bus ID: 1-14:8 chip ID: 0b05:1996
Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.15.0-43-generic
Network: Device-1: Intel vendor: ASUSTeK driver: igc v: kernel port: 5000 bus ID: 09:00.0
chip ID: 8086:15f3
IF: enp9s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Device-2: Intel vendor: ASUSTeK driver: igc v: kernel port: 5000 bus ID: 0a:00.0
chip ID: 8086:15f3
Device-3: Intel driver: iwlwifi v: kernel port: 5000 bus ID: 0b:00.0 chip ID: 8086:2725
IF: wlp11s0 state: down mac: <filter>
IF-ID-1: enp10s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives: Local Storage: total: 2.73 TiB used: 536.11 GiB (19.2%)
ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Sabrent model: Rocket 4.0 1TB size: 931.51 GiB
speed: 63.2 Gb/s lanes: 4 serial: <filter>
ID-2: /dev/nvme1n1 vendor: Seagate model: FireCuda 530 ZP1000GM30023 size: 931.51 GiB
speed: 63.2 Gb/s lanes: 4 serial: <filter>
ID-3: /dev/nvme2n1 model: MSI M370 1TB size: 953.87 GiB speed: 31.6 Gb/s lanes: 4
serial: <filter>
ID-4: /dev/sda type: USB vendor: Western Digital model: WD My Passport 25E2
size: 1.82 TiB serial: <filter>
Partition: ID-1: / size: 915.32 GiB used: 26.40 GiB (2.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme1n1p2
USB: Hub: 1-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 16 rev: 2.0 chip ID: 1d6b:0002
Device-1: 1-2:2 info: Intel type: Bluetooth driver: btusb rev: 2.0 chip ID: 8087:0032
Device-2: 1-4:3 info: ASUSTek AURA LED Controller type: <vendor specific>
driver: hid-generic,usbhid rev: 2.0 chip ID: 0b05:18f3
Hub: 1-10:4 info: ASMedia ASM1074 High-Speed hub ports: 4 rev: 2.1 chip ID: 174c:2074
Device-3: 1-11:5 info: Holtek Keyboard LKS02 type: Keyboard,HID
driver: hid-generic,usbhid rev: 1.1 chip ID: 04d9:1702
Device-4: 1-12:6 info: MosArt 2.4G Wireless Mouse type: Mouse
driver: hid-generic,usbhid rev: 1.1 chip ID: 062a:4102
Hub: 1-13:7 info: Genesys Logic 4-port hub ports: 4 rev: 2.0 chip ID: 05e3:0610
Device-5: 1-14:8 info: ASUSTek USB Audio type: Audio,HID
driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid rev: 2.0 chip ID: 0b05:1996
Hub: 2-0:1 info: Full speed (or root) Hub ports: 8 rev: 3.1 chip ID: 1d6b:0003
Hub: 2-8:2 info: ASMedia ASM1074 SuperSpeed hub ports: 4 rev: 3.0 chip ID: 174c:3074
Device-6: 2-8.4:3 info: Western Digital My Passport (WD40NMZW) type: Mass Storage
driver: usb-storage rev: 3.0 chip ID: 1058:25e2
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 29.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 34 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: amdgpu fan: 0
Repos: No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
1: deb https: //mirror.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/linuxmint-packages una main upstream import backport
2: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.mirror.rafal.ca/ubuntu focal main restricted universe multiverse
3: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.mirror.rafal.ca/ubuntu focal-updates main restricted universe multiverse
4: deb http: //archive.ubuntu.mirror.rafal.ca/ubuntu focal-backports main restricted universe multiverse
5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ focal-security main restricted universe multiverse
6: deb http: //archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ focal partner
Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/skype-stable.list
1: deb [arch=amd64] https: //repo.skype.com/deb stable main
Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/spotify.list
1: deb http: //repository.spotify.com stable non-free
Info: Processes: 309 Uptime: 5m Memory: 15.46 GiB used: 1.15 GiB (7.4%) Init: systemd v: 245
runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.4.0 alt: 9 Client: Unknown python3.8 client inxi: 3.0.38
FUBAR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:19 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by FUBAR »

I guess the Fubar designation throws me off, yes I was trying to "open it", like you would in Windows on the "C" drive?
FUBAR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:19 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by FUBAR »

And finally, why does Fire Cuda show up as "secondary device" when it is physically in the first NVME slot on the motherboard?
disks listing seagate is primary drive.png
disks listing seagate is primary drive.png (12.38 KiB) Viewed 160 times
motoryzen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by motoryzen »

FUBAR wrote:
Sun Aug 07, 2022 3:35 pm
And finally, why does Fire Cuda show up as "secondary device" when it is physically in the first NVME slot on the motherboard?disks listing seagate is primary drive.png
It could be that your motherboard's UEFI/bios actually labels the second slot as slot 0, and the top slot closest to the cpu as slot 1.

It's not very common, but it is possible. Beyond that, i can't recall other logical reasons why.
MiZoG
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:30 pm

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by MiZoG »

Fubar, what is the problem with that partition? Is it mounted as root and you didn't wish that? Installation came up with an automatic unwanted partition scheme?
motoryzen wrote:It could be that your motherboard's UEFI/bios actually labels the second slot as slot 0
According to motherboard's manual, it is not the case.

But BTW I noticed that if PCIEX_16_1 (GPU) and M.2_1 and M.2_2 (nvme storage units) are occupied at the same time, it is not clear at least to me that the graphics card will operate in x16 mode...
pbear
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6559
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by pbear »

FUBAR wrote:
Sun Aug 07, 2022 3:27 pm
I guess the Fubar designation throws me off, yes I was trying to "open it", like you would in Windows on the "C" drive?
So, Andy's suspicion is confirmed. Nothing is wrong. It's just that you were trying to do something which can't be done. FYI, the C: "drive" in Windows is a partition, not a device. And there's no need for you to re-mount your system partition in Mint. It's mounted at boot.

As for why your system drive is labeled nvme1n1, who knows, but pretty sure it's a hardware thing and you can't do anything about it.
Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19963
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by Cosmo. »

It is the first NVME drive connected with the second controller.
motoryzen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1449
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 12:25 am

Re: Main drive is in Root?

Post by motoryzen »

As for why your system drive is labeled nvme1n1, who knows, but pretty sure it's a hardware thing and you can't do anything about it.
The only possible ( key word there..possible...NOT 100% sure as I have not tried this myself) way I could think of to counter pbear's statement of "hardware thing and you can't do anything about it" is to boot into a live environment using your LM installation prep thumb drive, and change the mount point of your LM installed storage drive ( aka that nvme ssd) and also there is a reasonable chance you may need to edit an fstab entry to ensure it still boots instead of acting like the boot drive is missing.

Again.....I DON'T know if this would cause booting problems regardless whether or not you'd have to edit a fstab entry involving it. You do this theory at your own risk.

Regardless, do both a timeshift backup and a system image back up ( I recommend Foxclone - not to suck up to AndyMH - as he is the dev- but legit because it's the easiest most tried and true solution I've used in recent years) to a separate drive that nvme ssd before doing anything ..IF..you want to try this theory.

Those such as rene, smg, AndyMH, kadaitchaman, all41, pbear, and many others have more room to talk and delve deeper into this idea or realm than I do.

I'll try this on my secondary test PC and report back for anyone who is interested = please private message me IF this topic ends up being closed before I can report back.
Post Reply

Return to “Beginner Questions”