[SOLVED] Laptop seems to suspend, but won't resume

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Mike H
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:09 pm

[SOLVED] Laptop seems to suspend, but won't resume

Post by Mike H »

I'm running Linux Mint 20.3 Cinnamon on a late-2011 Macbook Pro. It's been working perfectly since switching to Mint years ago. Specifically, suspend and resume when the lid was closed and opened worked faultlessly - until just a few days ago.

I booted the machine to find that the boot process hung with the last message being:-

fb0: Switching to radeondrmfb from EFI VGA

This laptop always runs with software rendering due to the hybrid graphics chip that was used in the Macbook by Apple. I have to ensure that NOMODESET is included in my GRUB configuration, so my first assumption was that something had broken GRUB - something that has happened previously. Eventually I got the system back to the point where it would boot, having used a combination of manually editing the GRUB configuration file, Boot Repair and SuperGrub.

However, I'm left with this one problem with suspend and resume. When I close the lid (or initiate a suspend by any other mechanism), the laptop appears to suspend. The fans stop, the screen switches off, the keyboard lights go out and the sleep indicator LED slowly flashes. All this looks OK and perfectly normal. When I open the lid again, the keyboard lights up, the fans start and the sleep indicator switches off, but the screen remains black and nothing I've tried will bring it back. The only option is to long-press the power button to turn off the laptop and bring it back with a reboot.

Code: Select all

mike@mike-MacBookPro:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:
  Kernel: 5.4.0-125-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.4.0 
  Desktop: Cinnamon 5.2.7 Distro: Linux Mint 20.3 Una 
  base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: Apple product: MacBookPro8,2 v: 1.0 serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Apple model: Mac-94245A3940C91C80 v: MacBookPro8,2 serial: <filter> 
  UEFI: Apple v: 87.0.0.0.0 date: 06/13/2019 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 78.8 Wh condition: 79.0/77.8 Wh (102%) 
  model: Newer Tech A1382 status: Charging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-2675QM bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Sandy Bridge rev: 7 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
  flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 35199 
  Speed: 2845 MHz min/max: 800/3100 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2800 2: 2812 
  3: 2803 4: 2872 5: 2800 6: 2800 7: 3043 8: 2888 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics 
  vendor: Apple driver: N/A bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Device-2: AMD Whistler [Radeon HD 6630M/6650M/6750M/7670M/7690M] 
  vendor: Apple MacBookPro8 2 driver: N/A bus ID: 01:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.13 driver: ati,fbdev 
  unloaded: modesetting,radeon,vesa resolution: 1440x900~77Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 12.0.0 256 bits) v: 4.5 Mesa 21.2.6 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Device-2: AMD Turks HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6500/6600 / 6700M Series] 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-125-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Broadcom and subsidiaries NetXtreme BCM57765 Gigabit Ethernet 
  PCIe 
  driver: tg3 v: 3.137 port: 2000 bus ID: 02:00.0 
  IF: enp2s0f0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Broadcom and subsidiaries BCM4331 802.11a/b/g/n 
  vendor: Apple AirPort Extreme driver: wl v: kernel port: 2000 
  bus ID: 03:00.0 
  IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 1.82 TiB used: 366.66 GiB (19.7%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: SSD 850 EVO 2TB size: 1.82 TiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 143.27 GiB used: 19.86 GiB (13.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda4 
  ID-2: /home size: 647.77 GiB used: 346.74 GiB (53.5%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/sda5 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 74.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 279 Uptime: 40m Memory: 15.55 GiB used: 1.90 GiB (12.2%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.4.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.17 
  inxi: 3.0.38 
mike@mike-MacBookPro:~$ 
I've tried the many suggestions that are offered to others with a similar problem, but none of them have worked. My understanding of the whole boot process and the part played by GRUB and the stuff in the EFI boot partition is pretty-much non-existent. As an extra layer of complication, I also use rEFInd as a boot manager - this goes back to the days when I was dual booting Mint and MacOS.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what might have gone wrong? Is there an explanation as to why a problem with GRUB/EFI might have affected suspend and resume?

Thanks,

Mike
Last edited by Mike H on Wed Oct 05, 2022 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22055
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Laptop seems to suspend, but won't resume

Post by Cosmo. »

When all worked in the past as it should and then suddenly stops working correctly, set the system back with a Timeshift snapshot.
Gotcha!
Mike H
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:09 pm

Re: Laptop seems to suspend, but won't resume

Post by Mike H »

Hello

Thanks for the suggestion. I could do as you suggest, but I was hoping to understand what had broken suspend/resume, rather than fixing it without understanding why or how. If it was a serious problem I'd have no hesitation in rolling the system back using one of my regular backups, but the lack of suspend/resume is more of a minor inconvenience rather than something that needs a quick fix.

Mike
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22055
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Laptop seems to suspend, but won't resume

Post by Cosmo. »

Restoring to an older state means, that all, what you had done since the date, will be gone. This can be updates, additional software, or whatever else you changed in the system (without user settings, which get stored in home). Most likely you will apply those changes again, but this time do this for every single step alone. This should at some point show you the culprit.
Gotcha!
Mike H
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:09 pm

[SOLVED] Laptop seems to suspend, but won't resume

Post by Mike H »

We'll, it looks like it was probably caused by dying hardware.

I subsequently found several other problems with my ancient MacBook, all of which pointed towards a failing graphics chip. I've seen several posts stating that failing graphics can result in suspend / resume problems, so I decided it was time to dump the MacBook and get a nice new Dell instead.

Thanks for your help.

Mike
Post Reply

Return to “Beginner Questions”