Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
kadz34
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2021 6:37 pm

Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by kadz34 »

Drag'n'drop and the middle-mouse-button work for pasting in the terminal and I can copy from the terminal with the mouse, but ctrl+shift+c/v never works. Opening a new tab with ctrl+shift+t doesn't work either. Both shift keys are working outside of the terminal.

I checked my accels.scm file and noticed that I apparently have to use the "primary" key. Is that a different key than ctrl and if so, how do I find out?

Code: Select all

; (gtk_accel_path "<Actions>/terminal-window/copy" "<Primary><Shift>c")

Code: Select all

; (gtk_accel_path "<Actions>/terminal-window/paste" "<Primary><Shift>v")
Here is my inxi report:

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-48-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.2.0 Desktop: Xfce 4.16.0
    tk: Gtk 3.24.23 wm: xfwm dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 21 Vanessa base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: HP product: HP Laptop 17-cp0xxx v: N/A serial: <superuser required>
    Chassis: type: 10 serial: <superuser required>
  Mobo: HP model: 88C6 v: 74.21 serial: <superuser required> UEFI: AMI v: F.15 date: 03/04/2022
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 40.6 Wh (100.0%) condition: 40.6/40.6 Wh (100.0%) volts: 12.8 min: 11.3
    model: Hewlett-Packard Primary serial: <filter> status: Full
CPU:
  Info: 8-core model: AMD Ryzen 7 5700U with Radeon Graphics bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen 2
    rev: 1 cache: L1: 512 KiB L2: 4 MiB L3: 8 MiB
  Speed (MHz): avg: 2060 high: 4338 min/max: 400/4372 boost: enabled cores: 1: 1171 2: 987
    3: 1812 4: 1776 5: 986 6: 991 7: 1096 8: 1098 9: 2281 10: 3791 11: 2517 12: 1930 13: 1929
    14: 1925 15: 4338 16: 4334 bogomips: 57490
  Flags: avx avx2 ht lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Lucienne vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: amdgpu v: kernel pcie: speed: 8 GT/s
    lanes: 16 ports: active: eDP-1 empty: HDMI-A-1 bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 1002:164c
  Device-2: Chicony HP TrueVision HD Camera type: USB driver: uvcvideo bus-ID: 1-3:2
    chip-ID: 04f2:b710
  Display: x11 server: X.Org v: 1.21.1.3 compositor: xfwm v: 4.16.1 driver: X:
    loaded: amdgpu,ati unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa gpu: amdgpu display-ID: :0.0 screens: 1
  Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1920x1080 s-dpi: 96
  Monitor-1: eDP res: 1920x1080 dpi: 128 diag: 438mm (17.3")
  OpenGL: renderer: AMD RENOIR (LLVM 13.0.1 DRM 3.42 5.15.0-48-generic) v: 4.6 Mesa 22.0.5
    direct render: Yes
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD Renoir Radeon High Definition Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: snd_hda_intel
    v: kernel pcie: speed: 8 GT/s lanes: 16 bus-ID: 03:00.1 chip-ID: 1002:1637
  Device-2: AMD Raven/Raven2/FireFlight/Renoir Audio Processor vendor: Hewlett-Packard
    driver: snd_rn_pci_acp3x v: kernel pcie: speed: 8 GT/s lanes: 16 bus-ID: 03:00.5
    chip-ID: 1022:15e2
  Device-3: AMD Family 17h HD Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
    pcie: speed: 8 GT/s lanes: 16 bus-ID: 03:00.6 chip-ID: 1022:15e3
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-48-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: yes
  Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.48 running: yes
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8821CE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter vendor: Hewlett-Packard
    driver: rtl8821ce v: v5.5.2.1_35598.20191029 pcie: speed: 2.5 GT/s lanes: 1 port: f000
    bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:c821
  IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: <filter>
  IF-ID-1: surfshark_ipv6 state: unknown speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
Bluetooth:
  Device-1: Realtek Bluetooth Radio type: USB driver: btusb v: 0.8 bus-ID: 3-3:2
    chip-ID: 0bda:b00e
  Report: hciconfig ID: hci0 rfk-id: 0 state: up address: <filter> bt-v: 2.1 lmp-v: 4.2
    sub-v: 7644
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 953.87 GiB used: 69.16 GiB (7.3%)
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Intel model: SSDPEKNW010T8H size: 953.87 GiB speed: 31.6 Gb/s
    lanes: 4 serial: <filter> temp: 22.9 C
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 414.91 GiB used: 69.09 GiB (16.7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p5
  ID-2: /boot/efi size: 256 MiB used: 71.8 MiB (28.0%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1
Swap:
  ID-1: swap-1 type: file size: 2 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) priority: -2 file: /swapfile
USB:
  Hub-1: 1-0:1 info: Hi-speed hub with single TT ports: 4 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s
    chip-ID: 1d6b:0002
  Device-1: 1-3:2 info: Chicony HP TrueVision HD Camera type: Video driver: uvcvideo rev: 2.0
    speed: 480 Mb/s chip-ID: 04f2:b710
  Hub-2: 2-0:1 info: Super-speed hub ports: 2 rev: 3.1 speed: 10 Gb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0003
  Hub-3: 3-0:1 info: Hi-speed hub with single TT ports: 4 rev: 2.0 speed: 480 Mb/s
    chip-ID: 1d6b:0002
  Device-1: 3-3:2 info: Realtek Bluetooth Radio type: Bluetooth driver: btusb rev: 1.1
    speed: 12 Mb/s chip-ID: 0bda:b00e
  Device-2: 3-4:3 info: Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse v2.0 type: Mouse
    driver: hid-generic,usbhid rev: 1.1 speed: 1.5 Mb/s chip-ID: 045e:00cb
  Hub-4: 4-0:1 info: Super-speed hub ports: 2 rev: 3.1 speed: 10 Gb/s chip-ID: 1d6b:0003
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 33.0 C mobo: 0.0 C gpu: amdgpu temp: 34.0 C
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Repos:
  Packages: 2432 apt: 2426 flatpak: 6
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/deadsnakes-ppa-jammy.list
    1: deb http: //ppa.launchpad.net/deadsnakes/ppa/ubuntu jammy main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mono-official-stable.list
    1: deb https: //download.mono-project.com/repo/ubuntu stable-focal main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
    1: deb http: //mirror6.layerjet.com/linuxmint/packages vanessa main upstream import backport
    2: deb http: //ftp.halifax.rwth-aachen.de/ubuntu jammy main restricted universe multiverse
    3: deb http: //ftp.halifax.rwth-aachen.de/ubuntu jammy-updates main restricted universe multiverse
    4: deb http: //ftp.halifax.rwth-aachen.de/ubuntu jammy-backports main restricted universe multiverse
    5: deb http: //security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ jammy-security main restricted universe multiverse
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/signal-xenial.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64 signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/signal-desktop-keyring.gpg] https: //updates.signal.org/desktop/apt xenial main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/surfshark.list
    1: deb https: //ocean.surfshark.com/debian stretch main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/vscode.list
    1: deb [arch=amd64,arm64,armhf] http: //packages.microsoft.com/repos/code stable main
Info:
  Processes: 330 Uptime: 46m Memory: 14.96 GiB used: 1.6 GiB (10.7%) Init: systemd v: 249
  runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 11.2.0 alt: 11 Client: Unknown python3.10 client inxi: 3.3.13
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22055
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by Cosmo. »

I use Cinnamon, so I cannot give specific help for XFCE.

But you can do this to find out, if this is a system's problem or an account problem:
Open Users & Groups and create a new account for testing. Reboot and log into the new account. Test it.
Gotcha!
kadz34
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by kadz34 »

I just tested it, the problem is still there when I use a different account, but thank you regardless.
User avatar
zcot
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2115
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by zcot »

Check the ctrl key otherwise. -maybe it will work fine within certain other windows, but not desktop/terminal.

Ah, I see you have a xenial ppa for signal desktop, that doesn't seem right, so I looked. Yea, that's not good development or maybe a packaging problem. Maybe it's no issue for the moment, just bad taste. Anyway, also found that: https://github.com/signalapp/Signal-Desktop/issues/5146 and there are actually quite a few related to using ctrl key. So it looks like it is hijacked from their program.
linux-rox
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:17 pm

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by linux-rox »

What happens if you use the menu at top of the Terminal, i.e., Edit > Copy (or Paste)?
Also, do Ctrl-c and Ctrl-v work as usual for browser, text editor, etc.?
Have you tested both Ctrl keys? (Perhaps one has been hijacked but the other not.)
kadz34
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by kadz34 »

linux-rox wrote:
Mon Oct 03, 2022 10:50 pm
What happens if you use the menu at top of the Terminal, i.e., Edit > Copy (or Paste)?
It works fine.
linux-rox wrote:
Mon Oct 03, 2022 10:50 pm
Also, do Ctrl-c and Ctrl-v work as usual for browser, text editor, etc.?
Yes, that works too.
linux-rox wrote:
Mon Oct 03, 2022 10:50 pm
Have you tested both Ctrl keys? (Perhaps one has been hijacked but the other not.)
No, my laptop only has one.
User avatar
zcot
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2115
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by zcot »

It looks like you can change the mapping in the signal program, I saw that on one of the github reports.
linux-rox
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:17 pm

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by linux-rox »

Sounds like zcot hit the nail on the head. Also, checking Signal's website, I notice the instructions you followed are still the most recent available. In case you don't know, "xenial" was Ubuntu 16.04 (six years ago), the foundation for Linux Mint 18.x (three versions ago). That's ancient by computer standards. The kindest thing which can be said at this point is that Signal no longer supports Linux. It happens.

If you want to pursue the issue with Signal, you might request they consider publishing the app as an AppImage or Flatpak. Easier for them.
User avatar
spamegg
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2822
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2019 2:34 am
Contact:

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by spamegg »

The "xenial" in the Signal repository address is not an issue, they simply didn't bother changing/updating the name of their repository, but it actually works with newer Ubuntu versions. Slack developers also do this: their repository is still named after Debian "jessie" but it works on Ubuntu 22.04 systems. Really annoying but that's how it is.
User avatar
zcot
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2115
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by zcot »

linux-rox wrote:
Thu Oct 06, 2022 10:35 pm
"xenial" was Ubuntu 16.04
Yea, weird. But the program is actively developed. They are handling enough within the code to where it runs on any of the bases correctly. https://github.com/signalapp/Signal-Desktop/releases
spamegg wrote:
Fri Oct 07, 2022 3:37 am
it actually works
It threw me before I went looking into that, guess I haven't seen enough of that.
linux-rox
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:17 pm

Re: Can't copy/paste with ctrl+shift+c/v in xfce terminal

Post by linux-rox »

Interesting, haven't seen such a thing before. If they're sloppy about that, though, what else might they be sloppy about? Oh wait, we know. For example, reassigning a standard keyboard shortcut (also used in Windows). :roll:

Be that as it may, obviously it's the OP's decision whether to use. Good luck.
Post Reply

Return to “Beginner Questions”