[SOLVED] Mint 12 should I upgrade my laptop's RAM?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
catalin-ch
Level 2
Level 2

[SOLVED] Mint 12 should I upgrade my laptop's RAM?

Post by catalin-ch »

Hi complete Linux newbie here. My laptop is a Dell Latitude E4300 almost 3 years old, Intel Core Duo CPU @2.4 Ghz. It has 4GB of RAM from factory, 2 x 2 DIMM DDR3 1066 Mhz. Maximum supported is 8GB in 4 x 2 configuration. Just installed Mint 12 Lisa 64-bit a couple of days ago and loving it, it's faster than my work laptop running Windows 7 (Lenovo i5 @ 2.5 Ghz, 8 GB RAM).

The question is, using it for the usual - Firefox around 6 tabs open at all times, Skype, IM, office applications, music/videos - will I see any improvment from upgrading to 8 GB of RAM? I'm interested in boot, shut down and application start times. Boot time is pretty good already I think at around 40s. I know that more RAM can't hurt but since I would need to buy it and change both DIMMS is it worth the trouble for the above considerations?
Last edited by catalin-ch on Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon | Dell Latitude E4300 13.3" | Intel Core Duo @ 2.4Ghz | 4GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066Mhz
kindofabuzz
Level 2
Level 2

Re: Mint 12 should I upgrade my laptop's RAM?

Post by kindofabuzz »

Question is, with all that open, are you using all 4G of the RAM? If not, then putting 4G more in won't really matter.
catalin-ch
Level 2
Level 2

Post by catalin-ch »

And what is the answer?
Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon | Dell Latitude E4300 13.3" | Intel Core Duo @ 2.4Ghz | 4GB DDR3 RAM @ 1066Mhz
kindofabuzz
Level 2
Level 2