Mint Newbie with 2 Questions?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
curmudgeon2
Level 1
Level 1

Mint Newbie with 2 Questions?

Post by curmudgeon2 » Mon May 21, 2012 8:20 pm

As a brief background, I'm a newbie to Mint, but I've been using UBUNTU for several years, with the operative term being "using". I am familiar with most of the GUI methods of adding and removing packages, and I know where and what the 'Terminal' is, but don't know much about the different commands, although I can certainly copy them when give specific instructions.

I'm currently running Mint 12 "Lisa", having downloaded and burned the CD version and then upgraded to the DVD version. All of my updates are current. (I have two HDs and and am running UBUNTU 12.04 LTS on the second HD.)

1) I would like to be able to "upgrade" to Mint 13 "Maya" but I don't see that option any place on the "Update" program, nor on the Mint Web site. Is it always necessary to do a complete 'disk' install of new distros??
2) What do the letters "RC" in the 'Mint 13 Maya "RC" signify?

Thank you kindly for your help and forebearance.

kc1di
Level 13
Level 13

Re: Mint Newbie with 2 Questions?

Post by kc1di » Mon May 21, 2012 8:42 pm

Welcome to Mint good to have you here.

You can upgrade to 13 if you choose that can be done by the terminal command

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
RC stands for Release Candidate and is not the final release. which should be coming soon.
However I have mint 13 cinnamon version install and I find it very good already.