Mint Newbie with 2 Questions?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
curmudgeon2

Mint Newbie with 2 Questions?

Post by curmudgeon2 »

As a brief background, I'm a newbie to Mint, but I've been using UBUNTU for several years, with the operative term being "using". I am familiar with most of the GUI methods of adding and removing packages, and I know where and what the 'Terminal' is, but don't know much about the different commands, although I can certainly copy them when give specific instructions.

I'm currently running Mint 12 "Lisa", having downloaded and burned the CD version and then upgraded to the DVD version. All of my updates are current. (I have two HDs and and am running UBUNTU 12.04 LTS on the second HD.)

1) I would like to be able to "upgrade" to Mint 13 "Maya" but I don't see that option any place on the "Update" program, nor on the Mint Web site. Is it always necessary to do a complete 'disk' install of new distros??
2) What do the letters "RC" in the 'Mint 13 Maya "RC" signify?

Thank you kindly for your help and forebearance.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
kc1di
Level 18
Level 18

Re: Mint Newbie with 2 Questions?

Post by kc1di »

Welcome to Mint good to have you here.

You can upgrade to 13 if you choose that can be done by the terminal command

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade