few questions if you dont mind [SOLVED] Thanks!!!

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
rob1980
Level 1
Level 1

few questions if you dont mind [SOLVED] Thanks!!!

Post by rob1980 » Tue Jun 26, 2012 7:18 pm

Hi all,

My first post, so Hi :)

Im new to linux to be honest..

I installed ubuntu once, but rarely used it.

Recently I got sick of windows, and decided to give linux another go.

So, Ive forced myself this time, removed windows completely.

I'd juts like to ask a couple of questions that I can find some answers to, but not all apply to me, or maybe Ive misunderstood.

Partitions..

(im currentlylooking on gparted, looks slightly different to how i rememeber doing it, but must be the same)

Im running mint Cinnamon.

I have installed linux swap on /dev/dsa1 8gb (4gb ram)

/dev/dsa2 Extended 365.16Gb
-
/dev/dsa5 ext4 mount point / 18.62Gb (mint OS?)
/dev/dsa6 ext4 mount point /home 346.53

I also have a 1.5Tb hdd in ntfs filesystem (nearly full)
and a 60Gb hdd not formatted or being used yet.

So my questions (please bare with me, my partitions on windows were horrible, im a noob with linux, but desperate to get it right and enjoy the Os this time!)

Ive since read that splitting the swap drive over different hard drives would be better, is this a massive difference, can it be done at the stage im at already, post install?