I'm a Linux Newbie, wife wants to stay with Windows7

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
TRA
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a Linux Newbie, wife wants to stay with Windows7

Post by TRA »

I've been messing around with Mint off of a live DVD for the last week or so, and I love it. I can't wait to do a full install...I am VERY excited. My wife has zero interest in Linux and prefers to stay with Windows 7HE. I consider myself to be fairly computer literate but have never used two OSs side by side on the same machine. Here's the question: Really, how difficult is it to install side by side and how difficult is it really to uninstall Mint should the need arise (we have one machine, and her immediate need for W7HE is more important than my desire to learn Linux, oh well)? Worst case scenario, I'd like to know that Mint is easily unistalled and I can reinstall W7 off of my USB drive.

It seems in searching for a succinct answer to this question, there are a lot of tales of cataclysmic install/uninstall scenarios, panicking users and lost data. I am in a unique situation as our machine is fairly new with nothing installed on it that will be missed if something goes wrong. Am I overthinking this?

Responses, advice and encouraging words are appreciated!
Rudemeister
Level 3
Level 3

Re: I'm a Linux Newbie, wife wants to stay with Windows7

Post by Rudemeister »

Tell your wife that you wear the pants in the family and you can do any darn thing you like. Oh, and you can't come sleep on my couch either. :wink: