Page 1 of 1

Can I use the applications backup to do this?

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2012 9:47 pm
by Crotalus
Hi,

I have been using LM12 for a while on one of my computers and I just installed LM13 on a new computer. I would like to install all the same applications I have used on my old LM12 box on my new LM13 box. Can I simply make an application backup on the old LM12 box and then an application restore on the new LM13 box?

Can I use the application backup/restore utility between different machines?

Thanks!

Re: Can I use the applications backup to do this?

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:58 am
by Danko8321
Theoretically speaking, it would work. However, if you have extra apps on your old LM12 install that are not needed (for instance, the Mate desktop), it would install them on LM13 as well. While you can use the Backup tool to do this, my advice would be to check twice your selection and make sure you don't install anything that's not needed. Other than that, you'll be fine ;).

Re: Can I use the applications backup to do this?

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:35 am
by Crotalus
Thanks!