No root - so cant install vmware?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
RugbyPete
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:07 pm

No root - so cant install vmware?

Postby RugbyPete » Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:00 am

I didnt allow the root account to be created on install...

I now need root in order to run the vmware installation and pre-req's


Any tips?

User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Re: No root - so cant install vmware?

Postby newW2 » Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:57 am

You should be able to install Vmware using sudo. It allows you to run things without being root.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Woelfe and 20 guests