Installed LinuxMint 13, but no option to boot after restart

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
LordOnto
Level 1
Level 1

Installed LinuxMint 13, but no option to boot after restart

Postby LordOnto » Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:17 pm

Hello,

This is my first time trying to use Linux.

I recently tried out the live DVD version of mint 13 (64 bit cinnamon i believe, on a Samsung laptop) and really enjoyed it. So much so that I Decided to permanently install it. However, after what I thought was a clean install (the partition worked I am pretty sure) I do not have the ability to choose operating systems when I boot my laptop. I was following the user guide for mint 13 and I am pretty sure I did not miss any steps... the manual said that after ejecting the live DVD and pressing enter, the system should restart and you should get a black screen where you can choose which OS to start, which I do not get (it just boots windows as usual).

I changed my bios settings to load from DVD in order to load the live DVD so I am not sure if that has anything to do with it. Another thing, when I press F2 while restarting the laptop I can go to an option where theoretically you can switch OS. However, only Windows 7 is there...

The partition seems to exist which is why I am confused why my computer is not recognizing that there is a new OS on my system.

Help please thanks!!

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16

Re: Installed LinuxMint 13, but no option to boot after rest

Postby AlbertP » Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:28 pm