Stuck in terminal mode

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
donec
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Stuck in terminal mode

Postby donec » Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:16 pm

I think I did something but don't know what I did but now when it boots all I see is a black screen showing the boot process and a request for my login. How do I get my GUI back?
Thanks in advance
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE

User avatar
BlahBlah_X
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Walrus Teeth

Re: Stuck in terminal mode

Postby BlahBlah_X » Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:01 pm

Login, and run "startx". Tell me if this works, and if so, I know what happened.

donec
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Stuck in terminal mode

Postby donec » Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:11 pm

Thanks for the reply BlahBlah_X. I logged in and typed in startx then I hit enter. I did not get my GUI back but I got a bunch of text on the screen and a lot of it disappeared from sight so I can't post all of it.
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE

User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Re: Stuck in terminal mode

Postby newW2 » Mon Apr 14, 2008 12:08 am

What graphics do you have?
What were / did you do in the recent past (what s/w did you install etc.)?
Do you have Nvidia or ATI graphics?
You may have done something that hosed the graphics. If you think so, then after you have logged in using the user name and password. Enter the code:

Code: Select all

sudo envy -t
and select loading of the graphics (nvidia / ati) as applicable.

donec
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Stuck in terminal mode

Postby donec » Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:09 am

Ok I am running VirtualBox with Mint as a virtual distro. I tried to adjust the resolution and install the new NV drivers using the GUI. When I rebooted Mint I had no GUI. I have heard of a hot key that allows some distros to switch between GUI and text mode. Does Mint have this feature and if so what hot key would take it back to the GUI?
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE

User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Re: Stuck in terminal mode

Postby newW2 » Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:22 am

Oh VBox. You are using a virtual GPU in VBox. You don't run envy the graphics are manipulated by another means - I don't know how / too early to think anyway, and no time.
Was this by chance a guest on a Windows host with messages complaining about being in 32-bit mode during the guest launch? You'll need to look at the VBox manual for clues, or wait for someone else who knows.

MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Stuck in terminal mode

Postby MagnusB » Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:59 pm

Doesn't VBOX use a virtual graphics card and not the actual card? I'm not sure about that, but that could be causing some troubles with X..
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin

donec
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Stuck in terminal mode

Postby donec » Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:48 pm

I also am running Mepis 7.0 in VirtualBox and have updated the video drivers and increased the resolution. I am running Mepis 6.5 from my hard drive all else is run as a program within Mepis 6.5.
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE

User avatar
TwinX
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:06 pm

Re: Stuck in terminal mode

Postby TwinX » Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:06 pm

Hi,

Remember never to install any driver on a Virtual Machine. The drivers are usually included with the VM install package (e.g.: VM add-ons, VM-tools).

To restore your X try this:

Login as user >> type the command: sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Find:
Section Device
Driver "nvidia" #could also be "ati" or "i810" or any other driver

- Change the value of the Driver to "vesa"

- Save the file by pressing CTRL o m x

- Now you can type startx .

Uninstall the Graphics driver which messed up your system :)

NOTE: It's not possible to try compiz on a Virtual Machine. [ AFAIK]


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: avtotranasx and 23 guests