what happened to the extract here command??

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

what happened to the extract here command??

Post by podagee »

okay i love my mint 14 but its becoming very pesty.on right -click to extract here,it doesnt respond,nor,does the compress script work,not even in the archive manager.what happened to this and what is the fix?
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 24518
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: what happened to the extract here command??

Post by xenopeek »

Which desktop environment are you using (e.g., Cinnamon, MATE, ...) and which file browser (e.g., Nemo, Caja, Nautilus, Thunar, Dolphin, ...). It helps to be specific, see the forum rules linked at the top of this page.
Image

User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: what happened to the extract here command??

Post by podagee »

its in my signature and i am using nemo file manager.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit

User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: what happened to the extract here command??

Post by podagee »

i dont know the answer for 64bit but i reinstalled 32bit and used ubuntu tweak to install 7zip full and i can compress and extract with no problem.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit

Orbmiser
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1487
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

Re: what happened to the extract here command??

Post by Orbmiser »

Strange as using Cinnamon 64 bit 14 and nemo for me has the right click "Extract Here" or selecting multiple files and right click "Compress". You are using Nemo 1.1.2 right?
.

User avatar
podagee
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 761
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: hawaii

Re: what happened to the extract here command??

Post by podagee »

yes its 1.1.2.but right after the install on 64bit the commands didnt work at all.ill stay with the 32bit since it works and boots up a lot faster.and i hate to say that my Win7 Ultimate x64 boots up wy faster than these new linux kernels.so the 32 im okay with.
Say it with me,"podagee,....(poh-duh-gee),"
got it?GOOD!

Toshiba Satellite P755-S5393 Intel i7
octo-core @ 2.20ghz
750gb hdd
8gb ram
Windows 8 PRO w/WMC 64bit

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”