[SOLVED] Changing desktop environment

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
loobyloo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:35 am
Location: oop North, England

[SOLVED] Changing desktop environment

Postby loobyloo » Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:09 am

The Kicker in KDE is very slow. I've just timed it and from clicking on the icon to it opening took 10.7 seconds (and then you have to wait an equal amount of time for it to go away again).

In an attempt to solve this i downloaded mint-meta-mate. How do I get Mint to open with the Mate desktop?

Thanks

Cliff
Last edited by loobyloo on Mon Jan 21, 2013 5:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mint 17 Qiana 32-bit / Cinnamon

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19677
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Changing desktop environment

Postby xenopeek » Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:11 am

From the login screen you can select which desktop environment to run.
Image

loobyloo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:35 am
Location: oop North, England

Re: Changing desktop environment

Postby loobyloo » Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:25 am

Oops--yes, in the Session Type.

(BTW - Mate was an absolute disaster! Froze my machine completely -- had to pull the plug to get out of it). Opening KDE in Failsafe mode makes the menu open up as it should (i.e., in much less than a second)
Mint 17 Qiana 32-bit / Cinnamon


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests