cant get peer to peer to work (solved)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
stumbles
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:21 pm

cant get peer to peer to work (solved)

Postby stumbles » Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:39 am

hi neither transmission nor deluge is downloading any torrent files they both tell me that I have no incoming data - any ideas on what may be causing the problem my end, sorry not really up to scratch with peer to peer et al
I use latest firefox browser with a superhub virgin wireless router
on a 64bit LTS Mint cinnamon
with thanks for your time and (I suspect) patience . . .
Last edited by stumbles on Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6707
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby AlbertP » Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:54 am

Did you perhaps enable your firewall or something like that?
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

stumbles
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:21 pm

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby stumbles » Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:29 am

AlbertP wrote:Did you perhaps enable your firewall or something like that?


hi yes I always have a firewall enabled , enabled when I used LTS mint 9 isadora no problems at all peer to peer worked fine...on transmission

stumbles
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:21 pm

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby stumbles » Fri Feb 15, 2013 7:49 am

Hi do i need to provied more info here about this or is there no solution to this problem at the moment on here any feedback would be of interest - again with thanks for your time and patience . . .

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby cecar » Fri Feb 15, 2013 7:59 am

You probably have to open corresponding ports in your firewall. What firewall do you use and what ports for peer to peer?

For example if you use UFW firewall and the peer tp peer port is 45000 you open that port in UFW like this in a terminal.

Code: Select all

sudo ufw allow 45000

stumbles
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:21 pm

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby stumbles » Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:12 am

cecar wrote:You probably have to open corresponding ports in your firewall. What firewall do you use and what ports for peer to peer?

For example if you use UFW firewall and the peer tp peer port is 45000 you open that port in UFW like this in a terminal.

Code: Select all

sudo ufw allow 45000



ok thank you will try that out later . . . :P

stumbles
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:21 pm

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby stumbles » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:11 am

Hi tried that still not working getting 'no incoming connections' on my torrent programme 'Deluge' same on 'Transmission' - seems to be a common problem seeing it all over the forums . . .

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby cecar » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:31 am

Do you have a router between your computer and internet? If that is the case you have to open the port in the router as well.

stumbles
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:21 pm

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby stumbles » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:34 am

cecar wrote:Do you have a router between your computer and internet? If that is the case you have to open the port in the router as well.


HI yes I have a router not sure how to open the required port in it though sorry not very tech savvie . . .

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby cecar » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:53 am

Look at this page to find guides on how to forward ports on various brands of routers.
http://portforward.com/

stumbles
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:21 pm

Re: cant get peer to peer to work

Postby stumbles » Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:23 am

tried everything deluge / transmission just will not work on this OS at the moment seems to be a common problem anyone got any ideas re if they going to fix the issue anytime soon . . ?


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: killer de bug, leoandvicky, Oscar799, turdulk, wolseley2 and 10 guests