Wierd problem with LInux Mint desktop

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
JESSEJJ89
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:14 am

Wierd problem with LInux Mint desktop

Postby JESSEJJ89 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:07 pm

Everytime I take a snapshot or use the skype "share screen" feature, it always displays my desktop or a page/program that's no longer open. I have attachted a sceenshot with a "picture" of Linux Forums, and instead the picture displays pages that are no longer open or in use. Skype "sceen sharing" has very similar results.


Anybody have indeas on what this can be ? I really like Linux Mint, but this issue is really annoying.


OS: Linux Mint 14 (Nadia) Cinnamon edition

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: Wierd problem with LInux Mint desktop

Postby cecar » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:34 pm

Do you have an ATI card with the proprietary drivers installed? If so there is a bug with screenshots with Cinnamon and ATI proprietary drivers.
Last edited by cecar on Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

JESSEJJ89
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:14 am

Re: Wierd problem with LInux Mint desktop

Postby JESSEJJ89 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:39 pm

cecar wrote:Do you have an ATI card with the proprietary drivers installed? If so there is a bug with screenshots with Cinnamon and ATI proprietary drivers.


Actually I do, do you know if theres a workaround this bug ? Thanks for replying


Code: Select all

jesse@jc-mint ~ $ sudo lshw -c video
[sudo] password for jesse:
PCI (sysfs) 
  *-display               
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: Wrestler [Radeon HD 6320]
       vendor: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI
       physical id: 1
       bus info: pci@0000:00:01.0
       version: 00
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=fglrx_pci latency=0
       resources: irq:42 memory:c0000000-cfffffff ioport:f000(size=256) memory:feb00000-feb3ffff

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: Wierd problem with LInux Mint desktop

Postby cecar » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:41 pm

I dont know if there is a solution to it.

There is a long thread about that problem here.
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=103522&start=20&hilit=cinnamon+capture+screen
Last edited by cecar on Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3263
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Wierd problem with LInux Mint desktop

Postby Flemur » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:41 pm

there is a bug with screenshots with Cinnamon and ATI..."


The OP might want to try different screen-capture software, especially if the problem is only with Cinnamon.
Mint 18 Mate/fluxbox/pulse-less - Xubuntu 16.04/fluxbox/pulse-less
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

JESSEJJ89
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:14 am

Re: Wierd problem with LInux Mint desktop

Postby JESSEJJ89 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:46 pm

Flemur wrote:
there is a bug with screenshots with Cinnamon and ATI..."


The OP might want to try different screen-capture software, especially if the problem is only with Cinnamon.


it also occers when I use Skype's "Screen Sharing" feature so I don't think it's the software.

cecar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:47 am
Location: Stenungsund, Sweden

Re: Wierd problem with LInux Mint desktop

Postby cecar » Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:47 pm

I dont know if the software matters. Only way i know of is using the open source graphics drivers.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FreedomTruth, WharfRat, Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests