Math but no Sage

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
dbrant
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:00 pm
Location: London, England

Math but no Sage

Postby dbrant » Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:33 pm

Much to my suprise I cannot find SageMath listed in Synaptic. Am i missing something or what? :o

Scilab, Maxima, gretl, Octave and gnuplot are all there. Some mention of Cantor backport(!?) but no Sage :?

Could anybody please enlighten if there is an easy way to install it?
I am running 64-bit maya with cinammon
Dave

User avatar
dagon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1670
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:33 am
Location: Kungälv, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Math but no Sage

Postby dagon » Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:46 pm

There is a ppa for it here:
https://launchpad.net/~aims/+archive/sagemath

Install this package with

sudo apt-add-repository -y ppa:aims/sagemath
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install sagemath-upstream-binary

dbrant
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:00 pm
Location: London, England

Re: Math but no Sage [SOLVED]

Postby dbrant » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:21 pm

Many thanks dagon

I took your sound advice with the ppa and it worked perfectly. Sage is now up and running flawlessly.

I forgot how diverse it is and consequently didn't appreciate the number of additional applications it's integrated with. A big installation, but well worth it.

Much appreciated
All the best
Dave :D


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rograj and 20 guests