How to create a user when /home directory already exists

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
webtarget
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 10:20 am

How to create a user when /home directory already exists

Postby webtarget » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:02 pm

I just installed LM 14 over my LM 13. I had no problem keeping my /home directory and user files. But, my wife's user account doesn't exist. How do I create it without wiping out her files?

I figure I can do it the "hard" way and change her directory name and then create a user and then move her files into there. But, is that the only/cmd line way to do it or is there a way using the User Accounts utility without erasing her files?

Thanks.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1658
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: How to create a user when /home directory already exists

Postby catweazel » Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:35 am

webtarget wrote:I figure I can do it the "hard" way and change her directory name and then create a user and then move her files into there.

You could have it done by now. That's the way I'd do it. I wouldn't bother trying to find a shortcut because it's a simple operation.
Mint Testing Team & Mint Donor #3606
Intel i7 4820K @ 4.7GHz, 32GB Corsair Vengeance Pro
2133MHz XMP, 4 Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs in
RAID0, 12TB HW RAID10, 3 x 24" Samsung UlHD,
Custom pre-emptive kernel 4.7.5,
Dual nVidia GTX 1080

webtarget
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Create a user when /home directory already exists [SOLVE

Postby webtarget » Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:51 am

True, I could have done it by now.

But, I made a current backup and then created a login using the gui. It didn't wipe out the files. But, you do have to chown to make sure the user and files / directories match after you create the login.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: matelot1958 and 28 guests