Dual Boot: Mate & Cinnamon??

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
curmudgeon2
Level 1
Level 1

Dual Boot: Mate & Cinnamon??

Post by curmudgeon2 » Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:41 pm

I've been using Mint 13 - Mate - since it's release, after having used UBUNTU for several years, and leaving it with the advent of Unity.

The operable term is "using". I'm not a developer, nor progam writer. I "use" Linux for its security and simplicity; and I use Mint specificly because it is "user" friendly, and very easily customized, relative to Unity. My primary uses are limited to on-line bill paying, investment management, purchases, research, and email.

After reading about the popularity of Cinnamon, I decided to try it, but didn't want to uninstall Mate, so I installed it along side and imported all of my Mate settings and files. However, my HD always boots up with Mate, and I can't find a way to boot into Cinnamon. With UBUNTU, one could log out of one desktop and into another; but that doesn't seem to be possible with Mint. Any suggestions would be welcome.

I have a 500GB HD and I have the 32bit versions installed.

xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Dual Boot: Mate & Cinnamon??

Post by xenopeek » Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:41 pm

When you say "dual boot", I imagine you downloaded the Linux Mint Cinnamon ISO and installed that as a separate operating system on your hard disk. Is that what you did? Then yes, there is no way to switch which desktop you use other than by rebooting and at the GRUB boot menu selecting to boot the other operating system.