Page 1 of 1

Customize multiple panels

Posted: Sat May 04, 2013 9:06 am
by thomas.raines
I want to have multiple panels, but when I choose top and bottom, my bottom panel becomes the top panel. This, I do not want. I want my bottom panle to remain on the bottom and make the top panel my secondary.
I tried using panel edit mode, then dragging the applets from the top to the bottom, but I was not able to move jupiter and mintinstall. I tried to just add them to the bottom panel, but they were not in the spot I desired and again, I was unable to move them. Some time ago, I found an article that said you can just edit the config file and switch the 2 (rename top panel to bottom panel etc...) but have had no luck in finding that config file. Unfortunately, I cannot find the article either to reference it.

So, other than rebuilding the panel all together, does anyone have any clue on how to help?

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Sun May 05, 2013 12:57 am
by Spearmint2
what panels?

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Mon May 06, 2013 10:31 pm
by thomas.raines
Spearmint2 wrote:what panels?
In windows it is known as the taskbar.

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Tue May 07, 2013 2:46 pm
by Spearmint2
Did you choose "New Panel" instead of "Add to Panel"? I did and was able to make a completely different panel at the top.

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 7:49 pm
by thomas.raines
Spearmint2 wrote:Did you choose "New Panel" instead of "Add to Panel"? I did and was able to make a completely different panel at the top.
I don't have a "new panel" option anywhere. I'm guessing that you are refering to when you right click on an item in the menu and it gives you the "add to panel" option.

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 1:32 am
by Spearmint2
No, I right clked on the existing bottom panel and choose to create a new panel and put it at the top, then added different links to it, just to show the new panel wasn't just a copy of the original.

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Fri May 10, 2013 9:32 am
by thomas.raines
Spearmint2 wrote:No, I right clked on the existing bottom panel and choose to create a new panel and put it at the top, then added different links to it, just to show the new panel wasn't just a copy of the original.
Nope, still don't have that option. Did you add an extended settings or something. I'm on Mint 14 if that makes a difference...

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Fri May 10, 2013 10:58 am
by Spearmint2
Using Mint 14 myself. I didn't add any extended options, just what came with the distro originally.

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Fri May 10, 2013 5:16 pm
by thomas.raines
Spearmint2 wrote:Using Mint 14 myself. I didn't add any extended options, just what came with the distro originally.
I don't have that option when I right click on the panel. Instead it brings up the cinnamon settings applet menu.
I think the difference is that I'm using cinnamon desktop.

Re: Customize multiple panels

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:00 pm
by thomas.raines
So, recently I had to wipe my hard drive and reinstall mint. When I restored my stuff, my double panels were back just how I had them set up. Back track a little bit, I ended up manually switching my applets from my top panel to my bottom panel. However, since my panel setup was restored, I know there is a file somewhere that I can edit to switch the top/bottom as default.