How to install themes on Mint LDBE Cinnamon 64bit?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
ugljesap
Level 1
Level 1

How to install themes on Mint LDBE Cinnamon 64bit?

Post by ugljesap »

First, i would like to thank you all in advance for having patience for a complete newbie like me. I had some brief experience with previous mint distros, so i know some of the basics(used them as a live distro with preservation).
So, i decided to install it permanently besides my Win7, had some nvidia driver problems but i have sorted it out. Now, i saw some themes that caught my eye, and i wanted to install them, but all of my efforts were in vain. Tried several methods like this one http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 9&t=108970 and this one http://www.faqforge.com/linux/how-to-ma ... intubuntu/, and even some terminal commands that were included in theme readme but none seemed to work. Second method caused my X server to crash, so i had to log into gnome and to restore original theme. Is there a foolproof method how to install custom themes? I know that this is not a matter of life or death, but it's a start, and things like these will get me started in the right direction and someday i will be able to make more modifications (and possibly mess up my system). :)
ugljesap
Level 1
Level 1

Re: How to install themes on Mint LDBE Cinnamon 64bit?

Post by ugljesap »

My bad, i justa saw my typing error in the title, it is LMDE instead of LDBE. Don't know how i came up with that...
Brahim Salem

Post by Brahim Salem »

Installing new themes is a piece od cake. Simply extract them to /.themes :D If you don't have that directory simply create it in your home folder :D
ugljesap
Level 1
Level 1

Post by ugljesap »

Ok, i just created /.themes folder, and extracted the theme (minty colors to be exact) but it doesn't show up in cinnamon settings? If i am correct, i had to open file manager as root, and in / to create .themes folder?
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7

Post by eanfrid »