wine support with games

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
accessdennied
Level 1
Level 1

wine support with games

Post by accessdennied »

im still new to linux so when i found out u can open .exe files i was happy to say the least but with game play like portal or minecraft that would run very smoothly with windows doesnt want to with linux mint 15 is there anything i need or should do that will help me fix this problem thanx for the help!!
kitsuneae
Level 1
Level 1

Re: wine support with games

Post by kitsuneae »

This will depend a little on your desktop type.

Most games will run in Wine or might have Native Linux versions. Always check to see if a native Linux version exists first as those run the best! Just search "GameTitle on Linux" and you can find all sorts of stuff. For example, "[url=http://steamcommunity.com/linux]Steam on Linux[/url]" or Minecraft on Linux. If Linux Minecraft isn't working, check your java and make sure it's installed and running.

If the game doesn't have a native Linux version, that's when you either find an alternative (such as a different emulator for playing ROMs) or use Wine if all else fails. In fact, if you have Linux issues a lot of them can be solved with similar searches. Always try a search engine first.

The only time I have had Wine fail on me was for a weird VisualBasic program that was twitchy to start with. Most decent software will be fine! Again, check for a Linux native alternative before using wine, though. Native programs run the best.

Regardless of Desktop Type