No sound - why?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
mischivousmic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 3:12 pm

Re: No sound - why?

Post by mischivousmic »

mike acker wrote:on the Audio Support forum they ask for inxi -Fx data to help analyzing trouble:

Code: Select all

mike ~ $ inxi -Fx
System:    Host: ALBERT4 Kernel: 3.8.0-19-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.7.3) Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 15 Olivia
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M5A88-M version: Rev X.0x Bios: American Megatrends version: 1101 date: 03/16/2012
CPU:       Quad core AMD Phenom II X4 965 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips: 27199 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz 3: 800.00 MHz 4: 800.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS880 [Radeon HD 4250] bus-ID: 01:05.0 
           X.Org: 1.13.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1920x1200@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS880 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 9.1.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RS880 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 4200 Series] driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:05.1
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-3: Texas Instruments Japan PCM2902 Audio Codec driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 08bb:2902
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.8.0-19-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter driver: rtl8192ce port: d800 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 10:bf:48:fb:aa:5b
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller 
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e800 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 30:85:a9:ae:e8:1d
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 3000.6GB (14.3% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST31000524AS size: 1000.2GB 
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: ST31000524AS size: 1000.2GB 3: id: /dev/sdc model: ST31000524AS size: 1000.2GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 902G used: 400G (47%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 16.91GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 33.0C mobo: 31.0C 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 1630 sys-1: 794 
Info:      Processes: 178 Uptime: 1:18 Memory: 1224.3/15797.7MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.7.3 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4 
mike ~ $ 
this is from my ASUS based system, which is working OK ( although i have no amp that accepts HDMI so i can't test that ) .

this gives the best system analysis of any query command i've found thus far. what we are looking for: does the system find the hardware ( look under the Audio section ) . does the system assign a driver to each identified hardware ? again, examine the audio section .

let us see what your system reports, please

if the system identifies the hardware and assigns a driver -- it should work. unless the driver is defective. { one might remember from Linx forums recently that nvidia's work on drivers,...... left something to be desired. that's not exactly how Linus put it though :oops: }

lastly we note they have Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (ALSA) installed . this is evidently an extensive topic. i found a couple essays on it. more later .


# inxi -Fx
System: Host: brad-ER900AA-ABA-a1430n Kernel: 3.8.0-19-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.7.3)
Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 15 Olivia
Machine: System: HP Pavilion 061 product: ER900AA-ABA a1430n version: 0nx1114RE101NAGAM00 serial: CNH6110Z9D NA660
Mobo: ASUSTek model: NAGAMI version: 1.02 serial: MB-1234567890 Bios: Phoenix version: 3.11 date: 09/19/2006
CPU: Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3) bmips: 4008.52
Clock Speeds: 1: 1000.00 MHz 2: 1000.00 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210] bus-ID: 02:00.0
X.org: 1.13.3 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau tty size: 80x22 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio: Card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 02:00.1
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.8.0-19-generic
Network: Card-1: NVIDIA MCP51 Ethernet Controller driver: forcedeth port: f200 bus-ID: 00:14.0
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:17:31:05:cc:27
Card-2: Linksys AE2500 802.11abgn Wireless Adapter [Broadcom BCM43236] usb-ID: 13b1:003a
IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives: HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (1.7% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST3250823AS size: 250.1GB temp: 41C
Partition: ID: / size: 226G used: 4.0G (2%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID: No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 155 Uptime: 14:15 Memory: 729.2/3953.9MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.7.3 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: No sound - why?

Post by mike acker »

ALSA programming

Advanced Linux Sound Architecture

from my system output -- previous message -- under Video -- you note that I do have ALSA . it is my understanding that this is normal and the way things should be .

here are some of the references i've been trying to digest

[url]http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Documentation[/url]

[url]http://www.volkerschatz.com/noise/alsa.html[/url]

from the preceeding:
The simplest way to find out something about your sound card(s) and how ALSA sees them is calling aplay -l for playback and arecord -l for recording. These commands list the cards, hardware devices and subdevices available for playback and recording, respectively. It also lists the card ID, which can be used instead of its index to specify the card. My program alsacap, described below, can do the same thing.
I tried that on my system and obtained the following:

Code: Select all

mike ~ $ aplay -L
default
    Playback/recording through the PulseAudio sound server
sysdefault:CARD=SB
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
dmix:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=SB,DEV=1
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Digital
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=SB,DEV=1
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Digital
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=SB,DEV=1
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Digital
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=SB,DEV=1
    HDA ATI SB, ALC892 Digital
    Hardware device with all software conversions
sysdefault:CARD=CODEC
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
dmix:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=CODEC,DEV=0
    USB Audio CODEC, USB Audio
    Hardware device with all software conversions
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
dmix:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
mike ~ $ 
now if i get this right, Linux detects the hardware and (hopefully) assigns the drivers. ALSA is then parsed when you open a sound app. this will then connect|configure the interface from the app to the drivers via the ALSA configuration .

at this point I think we are pretty much as far as we should go without experienced help .

I see two main areas for trouble: (1) possible trouble in the Linux driver for the audio card, particularly if the card or onboard chipset was working with another OS. (2) trouble in the ALSA programming. I think this is pretty unlikely -- unless a device is just not recognized -- which then might not be reported by the aplay -L query -- or -- the ALSA programming isn't generated right or improperly modified. the guide advises that we not edit the base ALSA code.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: No sound - why?

Post by mike acker »

Although, I understand and appreciate what you are saying. Spending this much time pulling my hair out over such a problem is not worth the $10 is costs to buy a small piece of hardward that will do the trick for me. I am now considering buying speakers that I can just connect to the headphone out jack...
I would like to pursue this, if you have the time and patience....
can you display the info from

inxi -Fx

and

aplay -L

I would like to take this problem to the sound and video forum-- could you doisplay the results on a new thread in that forum ?
¡Viva la Resistencia!
mischivousmic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 3:12 pm

Re: No sound - why?

Post by mischivousmic »

mike acker wrote:
Although, I understand and appreciate what you are saying. Spending this much time pulling my hair out over such a problem is not worth the $10 is costs to buy a small piece of hardward that will do the trick for me. I am now considering buying speakers that I can just connect to the headphone out jack...
I would like to pursue this, if you have the time and patience....
can you display the info from

inxi -Fx

and

aplay -L

I would like to take this problem to the sound and video forum-- could you doisplay the results on a new thread in that forum ?






Spending ten dollars isn't an option over here, as the issue persists weather we try to get sound through the video card or through the 3 different headphone jacks on the pc tower using a pair of headphones known to work.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fx
System:    Host: brad-ER900AA-ABA-a1430n Kernel: 3.8.0-19-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.7.3) 
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 15 Olivia
Machine:   System: HP Pavilion 061 product: ER900AA-ABA a1430n version: 0nx1114RE101NAGAM00 serial: CNH6110Z9D NA660 
           Mobo: ASUSTek model: NAGAMI version: 1.02 serial: MB-1234567890 Bios: Phoenix version: 3.11 date: 09/19/2006
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3) bmips: 4008.52 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1000.00 MHz 2: 1000.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210] bus-ID: 02:00.0 
           X.org: 1.13.3 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau tty size: 80x23 Advanced Data: N/A for root 
Audio:     Card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 02:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.8.0-19-generic
Network:   Card-1: NVIDIA MCP51 Ethernet Controller driver: forcedeth port: f200 bus-ID: 00:14.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:17:31:05:cc:27
           Card-2: Linksys AE2500 802.11abgn Wireless Adapter [Broadcom BCM43236] usb-ID: 13b1:003a
           IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (1.7% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST3250823AS size: 250.1GB temp: 42C 
Partition: ID: / size: 226G used: 4.0G (2%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 154 Uptime: 19:34 Memory: 680.7/3953.9MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.7.3 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4 

Code: Select all

 aplay -L
default
    Playback/recording through the PulseAudio sound server
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions

User avatar
LinWinux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:04 pm
Location: East Coast

Re: No sound - why?

Post by LinWinux »

Hmmm, okay, maybe I just expressed myself badly with my first response. I thought that I explained that my problem was almost identical ... only difference being that I already had the external speakers since I prefer higher quality sound ... like the kind that comes out of decent speakers. But without the external speakers my problem, with my HDTV and its integrated speakers, was indeed 100% identical to what was being described here.

I spent I don't know how many hours trying to fix this. And just look at how much time people have spent on this post alone. Given that, how can a $10 USB fix with a set of $20 speakers (if you don't already have some) be *LESS* productive than hour after hour after hour of trying to get something fixed that continues to be a problem? I can't speak for everyone else of course, but my time, especially my (precious little) family time means quite a bit to me ...

Maybe I didn't clarify this enough, but the $10 USB adapter "fix" is exactly that ... since it has its own integrated sound driver that runs 100% independent from the soundcard connector on the back of your computer or your laptop. I've tried this on 5 different Linux installations so far, 3 different distros mind you, and Linux (including Mint15) recognized the USB adapter instantly, requiring *ZERO* additional fiddling, app installations, etc. You plug it in ... then you plug your speakers into the other end of the adapter, and that's the end of that. Literally $10 and 60 seconds of work !!!
The USB adapter *IS* a sound card with stereo, 5.1, and 7.1 integrated sound.
Really, that's not worth it ??? :roll:

.
PLEASE ... Don't respond to questions with meaningless or thoughtless comments!
PLEASE ... Help others, don't be lazy! Take a moment to mark your post SOLVED if you received a solution.
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: No sound - why?

Post by mike acker »

mischivousmic wrote:
mike acker wrote:
Although, I understand and appreciate what you are saying. Spending this much time pulling my hair out over such a problem is not worth the $10 is costs to buy a small piece of hardward that will do the trick for me. I am now considering buying speakers that I can just connect to the headphone out jack...
I would like to pursue this, if you have the time and patience....
can you display the info from

inxi -Fx

and

aplay -L

I would like to take this problem to the sound and video forum-- could you doisplay the results on a new thread in that forum ?






Spending ten dollars isn't an option over here, as the issue persists weather we try to get sound through the video card or through the 3 different headphone jacks on the pc tower using a pair of headphones known to work.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fx
System:    Host: brad-ER900AA-ABA-a1430n Kernel: 3.8.0-19-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.7.3) 
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 15 Olivia
Machine:   System: HP Pavilion 061 product: ER900AA-ABA a1430n version: 0nx1114RE101NAGAM00 serial: CNH6110Z9D NA660 
           Mobo: ASUSTek model: NAGAMI version: 1.02 serial: MB-1234567890 Bios: Phoenix version: 3.11 date: 09/19/2006
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3) bmips: 4008.52 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1000.00 MHz 2: 1000.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210] bus-ID: 02:00.0 
           X.org: 1.13.3 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau tty size: 80x23 Advanced Data: N/A for root 
Audio:     Card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 02:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.8.0-19-generic
Network:   Card-1: NVIDIA MCP51 Ethernet Controller driver: forcedeth port: f200 bus-ID: 00:14.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:17:31:05:cc:27
           Card-2: Linksys AE2500 802.11abgn Wireless Adapter [Broadcom BCM43236] usb-ID: 13b1:003a
           IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (1.7% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST3250823AS size: 250.1GB temp: 42C 
Partition: ID: / size: 226G used: 4.0G (2%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 154 Uptime: 19:34 Memory: 680.7/3953.9MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.7.3 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4 

Code: Select all

 aplay -L
default
    Playback/recording through the PulseAudio sound server
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions

OK; Good job. it looks like your ALSA generated. whether it's right or not, that's another question.
can you re-post this question in the Sound and Multimedia area? we need to find someone who has this driver

Code: Select all

snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 02:00.1
and is getting good results.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
ApexEverything
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:38 pm

Re: No sound - why?

Post by ApexEverything »

If I understand your question you are not getting sound output on your HDMI cable from the pc HDMI connector?

I had trouble getting my optical port set for output and I did find one bug/poorly labled drop down menu. I think maybe your answer may lie there as well. It's at least woth a poke around imo.

The root of my problem was in "System Settings" -> "Audio and Video Settings" -> "Audio Hardware Setup" (tab)

Once there, the top drop down labled "Sound Card" shows two "Built in Audio" selections. This is the bug/poor lable as both lables listed exactly the same is confusing. What I found was selecting the bottom "Built in Audio" from the top drop down opened a much bigger selection. It was there I found the "IEC958" selection that routed the sound to the optical cable.

I suspect one opens selections for input (recording) and the other opens selections for output options.

As I said, take a look around there as I can't believe there is ay extra loading of software needed other than the base install that you already have. It's getting the correct switches set I'd bet.

Good luck and cheers!

Dane

P.S. Yes I know I replied to an old post, but it might help someone else looking for answers currently.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”