Cant even Start with Linux

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
JayBee
Level 1
Level 1

Cant even Start with Linux

Post by JayBee »

I am very new to Linux – so new in fact I cant even get off the starting blocks!
I downloaded the file:
linuxmint-15-mate-dvd-32bit.iso
……….and burnt it to a DVD. Then Ioaded it into my laptop and it ran on boot up and the “Linux Mint” window appeared and said it would ‘automatically boot in 10 seconds’ and counted down to zero but then nothing but the Linux Mint words stayed on the screen. No activity.
I burn a 2nd DVD and the same thing happened so why will it not progress further? What to do next?

The Laptop is an Acer with:

Operating System
MS Windows XP Professional 32-bit SP3
CPU
Intel Pentium M 755
Dothan 90nm Technology
RAM
2.00 GB DDR @ 166MHz (2.5-3-3-7)
Motherboard
Graphics
Default Monitor (1280x800@60Hz)
128MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON 9700 (Acer Incorporated [ALI])
Hard Drives
78GB IC25N080ATMR04-0 (PATA) 32 °C
Optical Drives
MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ-825S
Audio
Realtek AC'97 Audio

Thanks in anticipation of a result.

JB :(

linbig
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Cant even Start with Linux

Post by linbig »

Hi and welcome to the world of Linux.
Did you check the md5sum of the download ? In M$ you need something like this [url]http://www.winmd5.com/[/url]. In linux open the terminal and type

Code: Select all

md5sum path to your download filename
It should match EXACTLY with this 4b5ff169b019889aedf1d054b2d97447 . If it doesn't try d/loading again .
If it does match try burning at a lower speed (I always use 2x for isos on dvd and 4x for isos on cd) .