Security Concerns [Solved]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
craig100
Level 2
Level 2

Security Concerns [Solved]

Post by craig100 »

I've been using Mint for about 3 years now and love it. However, I've just read this article which has seriously wobbled me as I use Mint for business, not fun.

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2013/11/canonical-dev-dont-use-linux-mint-online-banking-unsecure

Could someone please comment to either put our minds at rest or say if something is being done about it.

Many thanks,

Craig
Last edited by craig100 on Mon Nov 18, 2013 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shawnhcorey
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Security Concerns

Post by shawnhcorey »

Enter this command in a terminal:

Code: Select all

grep -i secur /etc/apt/sources.list
If one or more lines are printed, you have security.
Don't stop where the ink does.
Epicurean
Level 1
Level 1

Post by Epicurean »

I think this topic is relevant: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=148021&start=20
altair4
Level 20
Level 20

Post by altair4 »

Good Grief.

Mint tries to present to the user a stable and predictable desktop experience. As such and by default it disables kernel ( unless they are really serious ) and xorg updates from MintUpdate. For those of us who have used Ubuntu for any length of time can attest these will eventually ( not always ) result in a reboot to a black screen with white letters or something else that doesn't work.

But looks folks you have the ability to override this default action by enabling Level 4 and 5 updates in MintUpdate.