Application Appearance does not save changes between reboots

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Yiannis

Application Appearance does not save changes between reboots

Post by Yiannis »

Dear all,

Lately I got some more time in my hands and I decided to delve into the Linux distro I have been using for the rest 2 years by starting from the basics: the appearance of my desktop. I have a Linux Mint 13 KDE dual boot with W7 with an ATI Radeon hd5470 1gb graphics card.

I went to KDE systems settings and I played with "Application Appearance" and "Workspace Appearance". And then disaster.

After the first reboot the font colour of the folders' text is white on a white background but only when I open a window (i.e.Home). When I highlight a folder (single left click) this becomes black. No matter how I change it (and save it) using different themes, colours, e.t.c. for every possible element of my desktop e.t.c. (especially when I change the settings in the "Application Appearance" Colors tab) after a reboot the colours (or lack of them) re-appear as if I touched nothing. It is as if the "Application Appearance" and "Workspace Appearance" do not respond at all in my laptop.

This has been happening for the last month and I am unable to find something online.

Could someone help me or point me to a useful source of info about this? I also have to say that I am completely newbie so I might have difficulties understanding some of your wording.

Thanks in advance