Mint kinda broken...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:31 pm

Mint kinda broken...

Postby Dark_Fire » Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:10 pm


Well, my mint started getting really slow, and then, not evin the Administrative Process wanted to start... Sounds allot like this one:
madmanmick wrote:... Aside from that, does anyone else know how to fix this recurring problem i get? Basically, when I try to start a program from the GNOME menu or mintmenu that requires administrator privileges (e.g. Synaptic, and any administration or preference applications), a little tray icon saying "starting administrative process" pops up, and then disappears. I'm pretty sure its the window that asks for your password to allow a program to run - the problem is that it doesn't actually show the window on my screen, and disappears after 5 seconds - hence the only way i can start half of the programs is by using Terminal with sudo.

Posted here: viewtopic.php?f=90&t=12897&p=80807&hilit=Starting+Administrative#p80807

Now it takes about 1-2 min to load the Gnome pannels with the Elyssa Menu, where it always took about 20 seconds. Everything seems really slowed down and im not sure why or what to do.

Then I also cant use the Mint Update because of that administrative prosess that wont start... I can do the apt-get distupgrade, but I heard its heighly not recommended... Whats the command to start the Mint Update thru terminal? And how do I get everything fixed?

Thanks allot.

Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4, 2.8GHz Dule Core
RAM: 2x 256MB + 2x 512MB (1.5GB)
HDD: 80GB, 400GB SATA (480BG)
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon 9200
OS: LinuxMint 5 Elyssa

Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Mint kinda broken...

Postby Husse » Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:36 am

So you can use sudo - like in sudo apt-get?

Code: Select all

gksu gedit

this opens gedit with the same "tool" as is used by among others mintUpdate
If you get the "starting administrative process" and nothing more we know there's an error in gksu
I can't really say why it's become slow to load the panel - I suppose this is at boot?
Also tell us about your hardware - specifically the graphics card
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3077
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:20 pm
Location: Deep in the Swedish woods

Re: Mint kinda broken...

Postby Zwopper » Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:08 am

Make a new user and see if it's as slow on that account as well, that way you can rule out that it's not something in your settings.
My artwork at deviantART | My Band - Electric Alchemea

Lenovo U330P | i5 | 16GB | 128GB - SSD | Ubuntu 16.04

Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:27 pm

Re: Mint kinda broken...

Postby Ketil » Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:10 am


I had a similar problem.
I found out that the reason was that /etc/sudoers had the wrong mode

try this in terminal
sudo /etc/sudoers gedit

if you get a message that sudoers has the wrong mode then do the following

start mint in recovery mode and type
chmod 440 /etc/sudoers

at least 440 was the correct mode for me

hope this helps
Ketil. :D

Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fred Barclay, Jonmo1, RiverRanch and 11 guests