Install Mint on a free OS Laptop

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
thanosfrag
Level 3
Level 3

Install Mint on a free OS Laptop

Post by thanosfrag » Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:32 am

Hi guys,

I am about to buy a brand new HP laptop (Compaq CQ58-d69SG) which comes with no operating system pre-installed. (This is basically one of the main reasons for buying this laptop, I wouldn't like to pay for Windows since I am not going to use it).

I have some good basic knowledge on how to install Mint. However, I have never set up so far Linux Mint on a completely blank operating System (OS) machine.

Could anybody offer some general tips on how to install Linux Mint on a completely blank OS laptop, as well as some tips for avoiding potential pitfalls?

Since more and more brand new laptops are sold with no operating system pre-installed, it would be much appreciated if more seasoned linux mint users see this post as an opportunity to attract and help new users.

Once my installation is successfully done (hopefully), I will post a thread with steps and tips based on both your comments and my experience on how to install Mint on brand new free OS machines.

Thank you guys.
Last edited by thanosfrag on Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Install Mint on a free OS Laptop

Post by xenopeek » Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:48 am