should I switch?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
beelzebufo
Level 1
Level 1

should I switch?

Post by beelzebufo »

I have been using ubuntu for several years, I am very comfortable with it, but I am thinking of making a switch. Linux mint is very good looking, seems to have a large and friendly community and seems to be very stable. I am just wondering how many of you had switched from another distro, and if you were happy with moving to Mint. What are some things that I may like over ubuntu, and what may cause me problems?

thanks for the input,
beelze

passerby
Level 6
Level 6

Re: should I switch?

Post by passerby »

Some of the reasons and experiences of people making the change are discussed here: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=155967
Since Mint is based on Ubuntu, they're basically the same in terms of installing software, terminal commands, software compatibility, etc.
Ultimately the things you'll like/dislike will stem from which desktop environment you choose. eg. Cinnamon has a lot of snappy features, but is a bit resource heavy. XFCE is very lightweight and customizable, great on old hardware, but lacks development.
Just run off a live DVD or in virtualbox if you're unsure.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots

beelzebufo
Level 1
Level 1

Post by beelzebufo »