File permissions on external drive.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
buddylind
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:42 am

File permissions on external drive.

Postby buddylind » Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:04 pm

Hello all. I have formated an external USB drive but when I try to save something to it I get an error message that I do not have permissions. When I try to change permissions it says that I can't do that because I am not the owner. Argh! Any idea what I am doing wrong? Thanks.

User avatar
deadguy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Illinois USA
Contact:

Re: File permissions on external drive.

Postby deadguy » Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:44 pm

Hi buddylind,


a few questions,

1. does the external drive boot with the computer or do you plug it in after booting?

2. is it a hard drive or a thumb(flash) drive?

3. what file system is it formated to (ext3, fat32, ntfs etc)

4. open the drive, right click in the open window, choose properties and
look at the permissions tab. who is the owner, is it root??


Cheers,

Deadguy

MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: File permissions on external drive.

Postby MagnusB » Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:15 am

This can often be solved with chown on the folder, but some file systems have issues with Linux right management (FAT32). This can easily be solved by adding the disk to /etc/fstab.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin

buddylind
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:42 am

Re: File permissions on external drive.

Postby buddylind » Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:14 pm

Ok, its fixed. I was able to do a chmod and change permissions so that I can use it now. Thanks to you guys that is. I knew I was missing something easy. Thanks again for all your help. You guys are great.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests