Mint update with proxy

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
bboy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:31 am

Mint update with proxy

Postby bboy » Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:48 am

Hi guys i just loaded mint yesterday but the mint update does not seem to work...i get an error ...Could not connect to the internet... I think it is because of my proxy. I did setup my proxy and it works for firefox and snaptics please assists

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: Mint update with proxy

Postby msuggs » Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:48 am

You can enter proxy settings into mintUpdate if you use the latest version of mintUpdate (3.2) available in the Romeo repository - http://packages.linuxmint.com/. No authentication support as yet but it will be in the next release.

bboy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:31 am

Re: Mint update with proxy

Postby bboy » Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:17 am

how do i add [quotehttp://packages.linuxmint.com/][/quote] to my snaptic repo

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: Mint update with proxy

Postby msuggs » Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:20 am

If you just want this one package then download this deb to your desktop and then double click on it to install.

http://packages.linuxmint.com/pool/rome ... .2_all.deb

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: Mint update with proxy

Postby msuggs » Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:26 am

The easiest way to add the Romeo repo to your updates is to edit the sources.list

alt-f2

Code: Select all

gksu gedit  /etc/apt/sources.list


then uncheck the entry for the Romeo repository. Remember that this is an unstable repo for packages being tested.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Centauri39, GeoTh, tenfoot and 17 guests