fat32's a.k.a. ?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
locutus
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:54 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

fat32's a.k.a. ?

Postby locutus » Sat Sep 06, 2008 9:22 pm

I'm using krusader in M5-gnome (my preferred file manager) on my laptop. On this machine is Vista (ntfs), Mint (ext3) and a 30 Gig partition for storage that I formatted as fat32 so both Mint and Vista would have easy access to anything there. I had to modify fstab to list both those partitions, and then add the folders (sda2 & sda3) in krusader to gain access to the partitions.

Access to the ntfs drive works fine. But when I click on the storage partition I get this message:

Could not mount device.
The reported error was:
mount: unknown filesystem type 'fat32'

Are fat32 partitions listed as something else? It was formatted using gparted as fat32, and when I look at it again in gparted it's listed fat32, so what did I do wrong?

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: fat32's a.k.a. ?

Postby msuggs » Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:45 am

use 'vfat' instead of fat32 in your fstab

User avatar
locutus
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:54 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: fat32's a.k.a. ?

Postby locutus » Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:09 pm

Thank you. That did it.


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: all41, MajorMuff and 8 guests