I am so very stuck Dx

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
snoopy1881
Level 1
Level 1

I am so very stuck Dx

Post by snoopy1881 » Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:41 pm

Hi, well, I'm fairly new to Linux and I'm still pretty confused about a lot of things. I have quite a few questions, but I guess I'll start from the top.

I was using the trial for Linux on my sisters laptop, and it wouldn't connect to the Wifi in our house. It had no problems at all connecting when on Windows, but it didn't seem to be registering that the wireless existed. At this point I did a bit of research, and saw one or two people say that the Wifi went right back to working when they actually installed Linux. So, just to make sure, I installed it, but it still wouldn't work. I did more research, and found a download that is apparently supposed to fix the problem. It downloaded just fine, but when I went to install it the file was a tar.gz. With more looking, I found this:

http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1525

I tried following the instructions provided as best I could, and either I didn't understand and/or follow them properly, or they weren't the correct insructions for my problem. I think I realized one of the problems, was that I wasn't using the programs that the article mentioned:

1. flex

2. bison or bison++

3. python