Solved - I want to use Base - not included in LibreOffice...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
BobLuck
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:07 pm

Solved - I want to use Base - not included in LibreOffice...

Post by BobLuck »

I have always been interested in Base, but never tried to dig into it.

Should I delete LibreOffice before downloading and installing OpenOffice?

Or - can they both reside and play well together?

Are there two different OpenOffice - one by Apache and another not Apache?

Never been a fan of OpenOffice preferred LibreOffice - so is there another (Maybe Better) Base program I can use in Linux?

I feel like I should know the answers to these questions - But I don't - or at least not sure.

Thanks Charlie Noble
Last edited by BobLuck on Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10253
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: I want to use Base - not included in LibreOffice...

Post by Pierre »

LibreOffice 3 which is include in Mint13 & beyond - has Base installed.

yours does not??.
- Menu - Office - LibreOffice Base

- most people Do Remove LO - if they intend to install OOo.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
gold_finger
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2883
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: I want to use Base - not included in LibreOffice...

Post by gold_finger »

Pierre wrote:LibreOffice 3 which is include in Mint13 & beyond - has Base installed.
Actually, I just checked and everything except Base is installed after installation.


BobLuck,
No need to switch to OO. Just look for Synaptic Package Manager in the Menu and open it. (Probably under Administration of System category, depending on which version of Mint you're using.) Then search for "libreoffice-base" and find it in resulting list. Click box next to it and choose "Mark for installation"; then hit "Apply".

You could also install it with following command in a Terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libreoffice-base

P.s. I believe that if you have both OO and LibreOffice installed they will conflict with each other.
Please add [SOLVED] to your thread if a solution is found. Go to your first post in the thread, hit "Edit" button and add [SOLVED] to the title of the post.

How To Format Your Forum Posts.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.

BobLuck
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:07 pm

Re: I want to use Base - not included in LibreOffice...

Post by BobLuck »

I was surprised that base was not installed with the rest of LibreOffice -
right now it shows LibreOffice - Calc, Draw, Impress, Math, Writer.. no Base.
But I went into Synaptic package manager and found libreoffice base core and base drivers were installed but
libreoffice productivity suite - database was not installed.

So I am going to download and install now, was not looking forward to using OpenOffice.
Thanks Pierre.

Charlie Noble

BobLuck
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 12:07 pm

Re: Solved - I want to use Base - not included in LibreOffic

Post by BobLuck »

Thanks - gold_finger

I found it stumbling around - so glad I don't have to use OpenOffice - like LibreOffice much better even used it in Win7

Charlie Noble

User avatar
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10253
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Solved - I want to use Base - not included in LibreOffic

Post by Pierre »

"Actually, I just checked and everything except Base is installed after installation."

that's interesting - I've yet to see it Not installed. ..
- will have to check some other Mint editions, that are in my Vbox setup. ..
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
gold_finger
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2883
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:39 pm

Re: Solved - I want to use Base - not included in LibreOffic

Post by gold_finger »

Version I checked was Xfce -- maybe it differs on Cinnamon and/or others.
Please add [SOLVED] to your thread if a solution is found. Go to your first post in the thread, hit "Edit" button and add [SOLVED] to the title of the post.

How To Format Your Forum Posts.

Try Linux Beginner Search Engine for Linux questions.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”