[SOLVED] No wifi on my Dell D630. LM17 Cinnamon

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

Should I just re-install LM17 and take more note of what the driver manager says when I get to it? I bought the SSD i've recently installed in this laptop for the express purpose of experimenting with LM. All my important documents and things that matter on my LMDE desktop.
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4572
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by PatH57 »

you could.
once it's done use my commands to get the b43 driver to work (don't try anything else or we will end up in the same stage)
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

PatH57 wrote:just reboot to get a clean unit and then send the

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep b43
first to see what driver is loaded
PatH57,
Thanks again for the effort. I entered "lsmod | grep b43" and nothing happened. I've attached a screenshot. Is this normal for "lsmod | grep b43"
Attachments
screenshot
screenshot
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

PatH57 wrote:you could.
once it's done use my commands to get the b43 driver to work (don't try anything else or we will end up in the same stage)
OK, I think I will try the re-install route. To make sure I get this right, are these ALL the commands you recommend I input?
sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter

sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb

sudo modprobe b43
And that's all, right?
Thanks,
- CJ
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4572
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by PatH57 »

that should be fine (seems the b43 driver was not loaded) probably was the bcm or wl driver.
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

Thanks again. I'll get started on the re-install and report my results here.
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

jlane01
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by jlane01 »

For giggles and grins try rmmod wl. Mintdrivers could have installed the WL driver, which may not work with the 4311 broadcom card. If that works you'll just need to remove the wl driver.

User avatar
Reorx
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3933
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by Reorx »

Attach your wired network connection before you do the installation... and check the wifi before you do the installation... it might just work with the Live medium... :mrgreen:
Full time Linux Mint user since 2011 - Currently running LM19 Cinnamon.

Image Image

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

Re-install is complete. Here is a screen shot of my driver manager.
Attachments
screenshot
screenshot
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

jlane01 wrote:For giggles and grins try rmmod wl. Mintdrivers could have installed the WL driver, which may not work with the 4311 broadcom card. If that works you'll just need to remove the wl driver.
jlane01,
Thanks for taking the time to help. Unfortunately I don't know what rmmod wl is.
- CJ
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4572
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by PatH57 »

try first the method I suggested.
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

CJ in a Jeep wrote:
PatH57 wrote:you could.
once it's done use my commands to get the b43 driver to work (don't try anything else or we will end up in the same stage)
OK, I think I will try the re-install route. To make sure I get this right, are these ALL the commands you recommend I input?
sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter

sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb

sudo modprobe b43
And that's all, right?
Thanks,
- CJ
Alright,

I will do all these in this order. Thanks for the help!
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

Results from sudo apt-get update.

cj@cjs-laptop ~ $ sudo apt-get update
[sudo] password for cj:
Ign http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana InRelease
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana InRelease
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty InRelease
Ign http://archive.canonical.com trusty InRelease
Ign http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security InRelease
Get:1 http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana Release.gpg [198 B]
Get:2 http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana Release.gpg [198 B]
Get:3 http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana Release [18.6 kB]
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates InRelease
Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty Release.gpg
Get:4 http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana Release [3,144 B]
Get:5 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security Release.gpg [933 B]
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty Release.gpg
Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty Release
Get:6 http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana/main amd64 Packages [7,904 B]
Get:7 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security Release [59.7 kB]
Get:8 http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/main amd64 Packages [30.4 kB]
Get:9 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates Release.gpg [933 B]
Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty/partner amd64 Packages
Get:10 http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana/main i386 Packages [7,888 B]
Get:11 http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/upstream amd64 Packages [23.6 kB]
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty Release
Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty/partner i386 Packages
Get:12 http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/import amd64 Packages [31.5 kB]
Get:13 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates Release [59.7 kB]
Get:14 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/main amd64 Packages [125 kB]
Get:15 http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/main i386 Packages [29.7 kB]
Get:16 http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/upstream i386 Packages [23.6 kB]
Get:17 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/restricted amd64 Packages [14 B]
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/main amd64 Packages
Get:18 http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/import i386 Packages [31.6 kB]
Get:19 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/universe amd64 Packages [43.4 kB]
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/restricted amd64 Packages
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/universe amd64 Packages
Get:20 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/multiverse amd64 Packages [1,154 B]
Ign http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana/main Translation-en_US
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/multiverse amd64 Packages
Get:21 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/main i386 Packages [122 kB]
Ign http://extra.linuxmint.com qiana/main Translation-en
Ign http://archive.canonical.com trusty/partner Translation-en_US
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/main i386 Packages
Ign http://archive.canonical.com trusty/partner Translation-en
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/restricted i386 Packages
Get:22 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/restricted i386 Packages [14 B]
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/universe i386 Packages
Get:23 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/universe i386 Packages [43.3 kB]
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/multiverse i386 Packages
Get:24 http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/multiverse i386 Packages [1,398 B]
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/main Translation-en
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/main Translation-en
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/multiverse Translation-en
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/restricted Translation-en
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/multiverse Translation-en
Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/universe Translation-en
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/restricted Translation-en
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/universe Translation-en
Get:25 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/main amd64 Packages [290 kB]
Get:26 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/restricted amd64 Packages [5,820 B]
Get:27 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/universe amd64 Packages [177 kB]
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/import Translation-en_US
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/import Translation-en
Get:28 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/multiverse amd64 Packages [8,247 B]
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/main Translation-en_US
Get:29 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/main i386 Packages [286 kB]
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/main Translation-en
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/upstream Translation-en_US
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com qiana/upstream Translation-en
Get:30 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/restricted i386 Packages [5,820 B]
Get:31 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/universe i386 Packages [178 kB]
Get:32 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/multiverse i386 Packages [8,444 B]
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/main Translation-en
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/multiverse Translation-en
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/restricted Translation-en
Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/universe Translation-en
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/main Translation-en_US
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/multiverse Translation-en_US
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/restricted Translation-en_US
Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/universe Translation-en_US
Fetched 1,625 kB in 6s (255 kB/s)
Reading package lists... Done
cj@cjs-laptop ~ $
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

Results from sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter

cj@cjs-laptop ~ $ sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
b43-fwcutter
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 33 not upgraded.
Need to get 26.4 kB of archives.
After this operation, 96.3 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main b43-fwcutter amd64 1:018-2 [26.4 kB]
Fetched 26.4 kB in 0s (46.2 kB/s)
Preconfiguring packages ...
Selecting previously unselected package b43-fwcutter.
(Reading database ... 147625 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../b43-fwcutter_1%3a018-2_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking b43-fwcutter (1:018-2) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.6.7.1-1) ...
Setting up b43-fwcutter (1:018-2) ...
cj@cjs-laptop ~ $
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

Failure with sudo modprobe,

cj@cjs-laptop ~ $ sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb
modprobe: FATAL: Module ssb is in use.
cj@cjs-laptop ~ $

I'll close a few tasks to see what I've got open that caused that.
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

Hmm...
Still getting, "cj@cjs-laptop ~ $ sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb
modprobe: FATAL: Module ssb is in use.

That exceeds my meager Linux knowledge. Any suggestions?
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4572
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by PatH57 »

no worries it is in use that's why.

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig wlan0 down

Code: Select all

sudo service network-manager stop
then run

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe b43

Code: Select all

sudo service network-manager start
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

PatH57 wrote:no worries it is in use that's why.

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig wlan0 down

Code: Select all

sudo service network-manager stop
then run

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe -r b43 ssb

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe b43

Code: Select all

sudo service network-manager start
PatH57,
Again - thank you for taking the time to walk me through this.
Here is the result of the ifconfig wlan0 down

cj@cjs-laptop ~ $ sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
[sudo] password for cj:
wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4572
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by PatH57 »

ok,

let's first check.

Code: Select all

ifconfig

Code: Select all

iwconfig
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.

CJ in a Jeep
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Laptop Wifi not showing up in LM17 Cinnamon on my Dell D

Post by CJ in a Jeep »

PatH57 wrote:ok,

let's first check.

Code: Select all

ifconfig

Code: Select all

iwconfig
Here are the results for if config:

cj@cjs-laptop ~ $ sudo ifconfig
[sudo] password for cj:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1c:23:18:a4:e5
inet addr:192.168.1.5 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21c:23ff:fe18:a4e5/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:343369 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:144750 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:481999599 (481.9 MB) TX bytes:12030453 (12.0 MB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:1638 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1638 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:179069 (179.0 KB) TX bytes:179069 (179.0 KB)

cj@cjs-laptop ~ $
PC: an old Alienware Area 51 X58, Asus P6T, Core i7 920 I have tried to keep alive with 12 GB RAM, EVGA nVidia GTX 460, Corsair 750w power supply, 120 GB SSD with LM 17.3 on it, 240 GB SSD with Win 7 on it and a few 1TB HDDs for redundant storage.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”