Accessing data from Windows

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Joshual1177

Post by Joshual1177 »

Hello. I am brand new to Linux 17 KDE. I installed it alongside Windows 7.

When I installed Mint, I let the installer auto select the partitions instead of me manually messing it up. (I know very little when it comes to partitions).

I want to slowly move over to Mint as my primary OS but am limited in my hard drive storage. I would like to install a few programs that I like to use on Win7 such as iTunes and Spotify as well as several other.

I am concerned that I am going to run out of space if I do this and then I won't have any space left for new data.

I already know that I will be going through all of my pictures, music and videos on Windows to do some house cleaning. I know I have some multiples of files. My hard drive and directories are not well organized at all so it will take some time.

My other concern is once I do this, what is the best way to access all of my data on Linux without having to move/copy to my /home?

I would like to be able to open a music player for instance and have all of my music right there. Again, without having to move it. I would still like to be able access them from Windows as well in case my wife wants to use my computer.

I have browsed the newb section and really haven't found any answer to my issue.

I would definitely appreciate any help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.