Need Help........ Folders and icon and changed to non-GUI

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
sbodavul
Level 1
Level 1

Need Help........ Folders and icon and changed to non-GUI

Post by sbodavul »

Hi there,

I am a newbie to linux and have installed Linux mint 17 Cinnamon verison and till now haven't encountered any problems.
Suddenly today when i something gone wrong and my folders and icons chaged to old/textual theme like in windows.
I am attaching the screenshots of it so can any one of you plz help me out in restoring the colors which were installed defaulty.

So can any one plz help me out in restoring the default folder and graphics that were there and any possible guesses why did the graphics turned out like that.. so that i can be enlightened.
Just now i chekced once again with root privilages and everything seems to be normal in it, but not in the normal privilages :(
Attachments
Screenshot2.png
expat_tony
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Need Help........ Folders and icon and changed to non-GU

Post by expat_tony »

I've had exactly what you describe, also in the last couple of days. The "crappy old theme" seems to be one from Gnome days. I was trying out Firebug (HTML/CSS editor)when it happened, but I know a third person who was doing something completely different.
Two people have separately and successfully tried the following solution; one who also needed to recover Cinnamon, one who tried it on a working system to help me. He commented that none of his customisations were lost in the reinstall:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install --reinstall cinnamon