Load LM from hard drive [Partially solved]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Bryan88
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:29 am
Location: South Africa

Load LM from hard drive [Partially solved]

Post by Bryan88 » Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:07 am

I'm messing around with my dads old XP laptop (HP Compaq nx9110) and wanting to put a version of LM on it. The problem is the cd drive isn't working and it doesn't have a facility to boot from USB. Is there a way to load LM from the hard drive, or get it to boot from a USB (It has a boot from floppy option)? Many thanks.
Last edited by Bryan88 on Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

BlackVeils
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:26 am

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by BlackVeils » Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:34 am

yes you can use PLoP Boot Manager, you put the little PLoP file onto floppy with program called RawWrite (for Windows), then boot it to be given a choice of which device to boot from after that.

here is the easy guide:
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/16822/bo ... t-let-you/

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8551
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by jimallyn » Mon Sep 29, 2014 3:44 am

I've never had to use it myself, but my understanding is that unetbootin will do what you're asking.

http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

User avatar
Pierre
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7707
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by Pierre » Mon Sep 29, 2014 6:47 am

before you use the PLoP Boot Manager,
it would pay to test the floppy drive, to check that it is in working order,
by reading & formatting a few floppies, first.

- you may need a box full of floppies, as you may get some fail,
if they are a bit old.

- place the PLoP Boot Manager onto a newly formatted floppy,
and then see if you can boot from it.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4576
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by PatH57 » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:00 am

also you may want to check this
http://h20566.www2.hp.com/portal/site/h ... cachetoken

Also don't expect Mint 17 or Ubuntu 14.04 to work on it, it's way to old.(2004)
Mint 13 Xfce 32 bit could work.
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.

Bryan88
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:29 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by Bryan88 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:49 am

Thanks guys, I will look into all that. I may have misled you, although it has a floppy boot option, there is no physical floppy drive. My only option is to make the USB boot work. Said laptop is on the way to the dump, so I have nothing to lose, just may learn a bit. Thanks again.

stuart
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:06 am

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by stuart » Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:22 am

It's easy to do this, we did it often years ago with laptops. Just stick the hd in another machine, install Linux to it and put it back. It'll boot Ok.

User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4576
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by PatH57 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 3:32 am

It's easy to do this
as long as you have a unit with ide connection (not sata)
or you could buy an ide/sata to usb adapter (and you can use it later on to use external drives as storage)
an example:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-2-0-to-IDE- ... 0550148600
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.

acerimusdux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:36 pm

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by acerimusdux » Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:37 am

I've done something like this, though it was on a linux machine. But there was a way you could save the install image on the hard drive, and then make an entry in grub that would boot it. Another thing I remember I did once with a laptop, there was a way to boot and install over the network. It's called PXE booting. I think you may need to enable that in the bios somehow, and the bios has to offer support for it.

Bryan88
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:29 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Load LM from hard drive

Post by Bryan88 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 5:49 pm

Still battling guys, but thanks for the ideas and help. Tried the unetbootin option and although I got it to work, when it came to starting LM it said stuff was missing. Busy downloading an new one onto the laptop now (used one from a usb that was made on this pc before) so maybe that will help. It doesn't seem like a usb boot option is available on this particular model, can't even find the mulitiboot option. I don't have acces to other laptops, so swapping out the hd isn't really an option, would probably be better just trying to find another cd/dvd drive. Anyway, will keep trying.

Bryan88
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:29 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Load LM from hard drive [Partially solved]

Post by Bryan88 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:24 am

Just to close this off guys. I tried many tnings which I could not get to work, ended up borrowing a DVD drive. From then on all went well, and the laptop now has a shiny new version on Mint 13 on it. Thanks as always for the help.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”