VM in Elyssa 64? solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Khaavren
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:32 pm

VM in Elyssa 64? solved

Postby Khaavren » Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:04 am

I can't seem to get a VM running in Elyssa 64. Has anyone done this? any ideas?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: VM in Elyssa 64?

Postby Husse » Sat Oct 25, 2008 1:54 pm

Just a thought - you most likely have to use a 64 bit application in this case
Check that
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Khaavren
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:32 pm

Re: VM in Elyssa 64?

Postby Khaavren » Sun Oct 26, 2008 2:32 pm

Husse wrote:Just a thought - you most likely have to use a 64 bit application in this case
Check that


Yeah, that is why I specified the 64 bit OS. It seems that Virtualbox is X86 only. VMWare server has a 64 bit version, but didn't work (installed but would not create an image file from Windows XP CD).

User avatar
rhvkl
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 4:36 pm

Re: VM in Elyssa 64?

Postby rhvkl » Sun Oct 26, 2008 5:39 pm

hi Khaavren,

what exactly do you mean by that "(installed but would not create an image file from Windows XP CD)" ... you can't generate the vm-disk-space for your virtual os ... or the preparation before the windows setup worked and the windows-installation failed?

if your preparation crashes, your vm-ware-disk file hasn't enough space on your hdd, i think the default is just / for the vm-file

in case the vmware server works quite good, two possible reasons for a failure:
a) linux accessed / mounted the windows cd in a wrong way
b) xp is only a recovery cd

User avatar
atlef
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 8:20 am
Location: Stavanger NORWAY
Contact:

Re: VM in Elyssa 64?

Postby atlef » Mon Oct 27, 2008 5:40 am

VirtualBox has x64 version available, check this.

atlef.

Khaavren
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:32 pm

Re: VM in Elyssa 64?

Postby Khaavren » Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:43 pm

Thank you, atlef! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

VirtualBox 2.0 did the trick, and was very easy to set up.

Only issue (and very minor) is that it is not listed in the Mint Menu. I can access via Gnome-do, and that is really no problem.

-K


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Woelfe and 21 guests