SOLVED new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
drlao
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm

SOLVED new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by drlao » Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:11 pm

new install 17.1 mate rc
on new box with total erasure of wondows
boots great runs great but I would like to access the boot loader on restart
how do you do this? shift does not work and neither does escape
delete will bring me into the bios setup which is not what I want
so what is the trick
I appologize for the newbieness of this question
TIA
Last edited by drlao on Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:36 pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 12873
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by WharfRat » Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:51 pm

drlao,

The 'menu' is a text file. It's /boot/grub/grub.cfg

You can view it with

Code: Select all

cat  /boot/grub/grub.cfg
ImageImage

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9077
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by richyrich » Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:05 pm

As soon as the BIOS is passed, I hold down the Shift key until the menu appears.

drlao
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by drlao » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:28 pm

WharfRat wrote:drlao,

The 'menu' is a text file. It's /boot/grub/grub.cfg

You can view it with

Code: Select all

cat  /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Thanks for replying WharfRat, the idea is to access grub live on the fly at boot to, for example, run memtest or choose a different kernel etc

drlao
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by drlao » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:30 pm

richyrich wrote:As soon as the BIOS is passed, I hold down the Shift key until the menu appears.
Yup and this is exactly what is not working!

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 12873
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by WharfRat » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:34 pm

drlao wrote:Thanks for replying WharfRat, the idea is to access grub live on the fly at boot to, for example, run memtest or choose a different kernel etc
Yea, stupid me :oops:

Are you holding down the right-shift key :?:
ImageImage

drlao
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by drlao » Wed Nov 26, 2014 11:42 pm

WharfRat wrote:
Are you holding down the right-shift key :?:
just tested again: both right and left shift lead to same no go.

Mik3e
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:54 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by Mik3e » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:08 am

On my Mint 17 holding down the shift continuously doesn't work. Either shift key or Esc must pressed at the correct time during boot. Knowing the correct time is difficult so I press the key about every 2 seconds after GRUB beeps. If the countdown timer is displayed, that's the time.

drlao
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by drlao » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:38 am

Mik3e wrote:On my Mint 17 holding down the shift continuously doesn't work. Either shift key or Esc must pressed at the correct time during boot. Knowing the correct time is difficult so I press the key about every 2 seconds after GRUB beeps. If the countdown timer is displayed, that's the time.
No amount or timing of shift will work.
But tapping Esc does work - You just have to keep at it.
So that's it: Mik3e's tapping technique on escape is the workaround.
Thank You Mik3e!
Note to developers: this feels like a bug rather than a feature.

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 12873
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by WharfRat » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:55 am

There is another way I just tried on a computer that only has mint installed and doesn't show a menu.

Open the file /etc/default/grub and add GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu", save it then run

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
It should default to showing the menu when not set, but it does appear to be a little buggy.

You can get more info with

Code: Select all

info -f grub -n 'Simple configuration'
Good luck :wink:
ImageImage

drlao
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by drlao » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:00 pm

WharfRat wrote:There is another way I just tried on a computer that only has mint installed and doesn't show a menu. :
Yes This is exactly a verification of the problem. Thank you WharfRat.
Will now test proposed solution.

drlao
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by drlao » Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:04 pm

WharfRat wrote:There is another way I just tried on a computer that only has mint installed and doesn't show a menu.

Open the file /etc/default/grub and add GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu", save it then run

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
It should default to showing the menu when not set, but it does appear to be a little buggy.

You can get more info with

Code: Select all

info -f grub -n 'Simple configuration'
Good luck :wink:
Adding GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE="menu" works!
Thank you WharfRat and all.

Neil Edmond
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1004
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:19 am
Location: N.E. AR USA

Re: new install 17.1 how to access the bootloader menu?

Post by Neil Edmond » Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:10 pm

I figure Mint is made this way by design, to hide all the choices and such from new users, and to make the boot "more like Windows" so the noob won't freak out. Same reason we have a quite boot with only a splash visible. Don't want those noobs knowing what going on during boot. :wink:

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”