[SOLVED] System freezing after hibernation

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
krow7
Level 3
Level 3

[SOLVED] System freezing after hibernation

Post by krow7 »

Hi everyone! (and please keep in mind that I am quite new to the Linux scene)

I am having a problem with hibernation on Linux Mint 17 x64 MATE. After I boot my laptop from hibernation it works for about 2-5 min and then the whole system hangs (cant move the mouse or do Ctrl+Alt+1...). So I have to do a hard reset of the system. Then everything works fine.
This problem started after I updated the kernel via LM Update Manager -> Linux kernels utility. I have tried about 5-8 different kernels from the list and had the same problem with all of them. The problem goes away when I go back to the LM default kernel: 3.13.0.24. I updated the kernel for security reasons (suggested by an article).

Current kernel:

Code: Select all

Linux 3.16.0-25-generic #33-Ubuntu SMP x86_64
I am assuming it might be a graphics issue. So here is my GPU info:

Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Madison [Mobility Radeon HD 5650/5750 / 6530M/6550M]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.15.1 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD REDWOOD
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.1.3
Is there a way to fix this without going back to the original kernel? Any suggestions are welcome! :)