no audio on my linux mint

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
ragezor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:12 pm

no audio on my linux mint

Post by ragezor »

hello linuxians
i use a fujitsu lifebook B SERIES that has a intel solo core
and.. no audio :(
had audio in windows xp before that jehovah fella converted me into linux lover :p
i read about downloading ALSA.. but ALAS no clue how (see what i did there ?) :mrgreen:

can any of you linuxians help ??

regards from an awesome Canadian

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9063
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by richyrich »

What is the output from this terminal command :

Code: Select all

inxi -Ax

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8951
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by jimallyn »

A number of users have solved their sound problems by installing pavucontrol and checking all the settings. (Worked for me.)
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

ES44AC8102
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 4:53 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by ES44AC8102 »

I know that to see the alsamixer type the word:

Code: Select all

alsamixer
in a terminal window, that will show you the version AlsaMixer v1.0.27.2 ( in my case) and the outputs.

hth

"ES"

egolatra
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:15 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by egolatra »

same happened to me...may be your SO does not recognize your video/audio HDMI.
What i did:

install pavucontrol or just open it if you already have it
go to config
disable (off) your hdmi channel and just use the "built in audio" chanel in Analog stereo duplex

may be is your problem too

ragezor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by ragezor »

richyrich wrote:What is the output from this terminal command :

Code: Select all

inxi -Ax
Audio: Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.13.0-24-generic

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9063
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by richyrich »

It's recognised and the correct driver is installed . . what about the Sound Settings ? when you click the sound icon in the panel ?

egolatra
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:15 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by egolatra »

go to multmedia in the menu...and then click pulse audio control, or pavucontrol...and then click "config"..if you have two channels, power of the main channel and leave only the secondary one.
That's what makes my sound work.

User avatar
johanna
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 7:40 pm
Location: Turangi-New Zealand

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by johanna »

[Hello I just read this post as I have no sound on mint 17.1 either. I have put: alsamixer in terminal and this is what it came up with. attachment=0]Screenshot.png[/attachment]
what does in mean?
Attachments
Screenshot.png

egolatra
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:15 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by egolatra »

johanna wrote:[Hello I just read this post as I have no sound on mint 17.1 either. I have put: alsamixer in terminal and this is what it came up with. attachment=0]Screenshot.png[/attachment]
what does in mean?
you can see that your master channel is mute. but it seems you had your headphones connected at the time

ragezor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by ragezor »

and please, for a solution, dont tell me to download this this or that, please just give me a cmd to type into terminal...

User avatar
johanna
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 7:40 pm
Location: Turangi-New Zealand

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by johanna »

hello Egolatra, thank you for your reply, but I actually never use headphones....... and there aren't any plugged in

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7945
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by Flemur »

johanna ...
what does in mean?


Turn up the "Master" and "Speaker" volumes, turn off Auto-mute (rt-side).

If you're still having problems, turn *everything* up.

ragezor ...
and please, for a solution, dont tell me to download this this or that, please just give me a cmd to type into terminal...


OK, try this:
$ fix audio

Or install pavucontrol and do what they suggested.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

User avatar
johanna
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 7:40 pm
Location: Turangi-New Zealand

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by johanna »

OMG, I must have been blind or had a senior moment...... You are right Flemur, the mute was on...
All working well now. Thank you!!! :D

ragezor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by ragezor »

pavucontrol is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 410 not upgraded.

ragezor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: no audio on my linux mint

Post by ragezor »

ragezor ...
and please, for a solution, dont tell me to download this this or that, please just give me a cmd to type into terminal...


OK, try this:
$ fix audio

Or install pavucontrol and do what they suggested.[/quote]

i will thank you not to mock me, it sais "there are no stupid questions" however if you are incapable of fixing my audio issues, i understand, as you can see, i already have pavucontrol

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”