Page 1 of 1

Screen locker with no background, or time

Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:11 pm
by WesternSlope
Just installed Cinnamon 17.1 on a new HP. The screen locker has no background with pic, or time showing. When going into the saver on my Toshiba it would dim with the pic and show time until it went black. What do I change on the HP to show the both pic and time.
Thanks

Re: Screen locker with no background, or time

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 10:00 am
by Cosmo.
If I understood correctly, your monitor turns off. Go to the energy settings and give the first option (turn off monitor) a greater value than the last option (start screen saver).

Re: Screen locker with no background, or time

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:39 pm
by WesternSlope
Sorry for the misunderstanding, but this is a HP laptop. I have no idea what you are talking about. I don't see any energy settings.
I go to Settings> Screen Locker. I have everything set the same with the HP, Toshiba and my other laptops. The HP laptop monitor (screen) gos black and moving the mouse brings the screen up. Just like any screen saver (locker). I can't find any other setting to change. This may seem trivial, but I'll lay it out with how I have my other laptops set to go into the saver (locker):
1. Laptop idle for 30 minutes.
2. The screen slowly dims.
3. While dim I see the dimmed background (no icons) with the time showing.
4. After 60 minutes the screen gos black.
5. To bring the screen back up. I move the mouse.
That's the best I can do to clear anything up. The only problem is that the HP gos black. No dimmed background, or time.
Thanks

Re: Screen locker with no background, or time

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:12 pm
by Cosmo.
Sorry on my site. The settings are named Power Options, not Energy settings. I am no native English speaker and simply translated the German wording. This time I switched the language of my system and can tell you the correct name.

Set the first option in Power Options to never. Screen Locker options are the wrong place for what you want (still hoping, that I understood your wish correctly).

Re: Screen locker with no background, or time

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:54 pm
by WesternSlope
Ich habe alles, was ich kann ausprobiert und kann immer noch nicht finden. Ich werde weiter suchen. Dank und ich bin mit Google Translate. Von Englisch nach Deutsch.
Danke noch einmal

Now in English:
I have tried all I can and still can't find it. I'll keep looking. Thanks and I'm using Google Translate. From English to German.
Thanks again

Re: Screen locker with no background, or time

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:01 pm
by Cosmo.
There is no problem for me to communicate in English. The problem here was, that I do normally not have my OS set to English language and then I try to translate the words into English, but this gives not always the correct wording.Anyway, thanks for the feedback.

What I do nit understand is, why you do not find Power options. This is definitely the word used in the English version of LM 17.1 Cinnamon.

Re: Screen locker with no background, or time

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:13 pm
by WesternSlope
Thanks for the help. I did change the Turn screen of when inactive to never in Power options. I was going through the Screen Blocker. Waiting to see what happens. Will let ya know what happens.
Thanks

[SOLVED] Screen locker with no background, or time

Posted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:37 pm
by WesternSlope
That did it. :D
Thanks again