Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
belteshazzar_der
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:29 pm

Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by belteshazzar_der »

So, today I decided to upgrade to Linux Mint 17.1. After restarting, I wanted to check out the new Background settings, but to my dismay, it seems to be completely broken. When I right click on the wallpaper and choose Change Desktop Background nothing happens. Then, I went to system setting and chose Backgrounds. All that I get is a gray empty window. This is so disappointing! I'm pretty new to Linux, so, is there any way to fix this? It's just really annoying me and I would like to change my desktop background in the future. Any help would be much appreciated!
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1727
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rainforest

Re: Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by jungle_boy »

Do a clean install from scratch. After, back up your data.
Dell Inspiron 5480, Quad-core, Core I5 8th Gen, Geforce MX 150,
LM 20 Cinnamon
JosephM
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1169
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by JosephM »

Could you try running

Code: Select all

cinnamon-settings backgrounds
in a terminal and see what it says.
When I give opinions, they are my own. Not necessarily those of any other Linux Mint developer or the Linux Mint project as a whole.
belteshazzar_der
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:29 pm

Re: Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by belteshazzar_der »

jungle_boy wrote:Do a clean install from scratch. After, back up your data.
Well, that's gonna be my last option. I just wonder if there is any other way to fix it
belteshazzar_der
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:29 pm

Re: Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by belteshazzar_der »

JosephM wrote:Could you try running

Code: Select all

cinnamon-settings backgrounds
in a terminal and see what it says.
Well, I do not know why, but that somehow fixed it. Awesome, thanks!
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1727
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rainforest

Re: Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by jungle_boy »

:D :D
Dell Inspiron 5480, Quad-core, Core I5 8th Gen, Geforce MX 150,
LM 20 Cinnamon
ack0329
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:42 pm

Re: Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by ack0329 »

Please help - my background is stuck on black and I can't change it even after 2 reinstalls and even deleting as many config files as I could

the problem started after I tried Mate along side with my Cinnamon

$ cinnamon-settings backgrounds
Python module
Loading Backgrounds module
__init__ took 280.377 ms

as well my terminal is broken so I installed Konsole - I believe they are related, and perhaps a Nemo config problem
***edit: terminal problem is fixed after R.Clicking IN the Window to get a MENU and changed fonts to white on black - now Terminal works fine

Still background is only black (I also eliminated any compiz programs and files and configs --- no luck

PLEASE HELP
ack0329
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:42 pm

Re: Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by ack0329 »

Solved !!

I think it was changing my startup programs to use the /usr/bin/program_name instead of just the program_name as works with terminal
also specifically I created a startup program for /usr/bin/nemo

It also allowed me to manage my 2 displays better
skibbild
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 4:45 pm

Re: Backgrounds Broken after Upgrade to 17.1

Post by skibbild »

belteshazzar_der wrote:
jungle_boy wrote:Do a clean install from scratch. After, back up your data.
Well, that's gonna be my last option. I just wonder if there is any other way to fix it
Hi
I had the same problem with black background, icons missing, menu looking like something from the stoneage :cry:
What worked for me to clear all this mes was to install bumblebee instead of the proprietary nvidia driver. Now everything seems to behave the way I want it to. :D
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”