Google maps

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
peterdee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:48 am

Google maps

Post by peterdee » Wed Jan 21, 2015 9:55 pm

Using Google maps on Mint 17.1 does not give me the detailed place names (like the name of a farm) that I get using a Windows PC. Any comments or suggestions anybody?

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Google maps

Post by austin.texas » Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:37 pm

What browser are you using?
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

peterdee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:48 am

Re: Google maps

Post by peterdee » Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:49 pm

Firefox, would it work better with Chrome?

User avatar
M Wood
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 11:46 pm

Re: Google maps

Post by M Wood » Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:03 pm

peterdee wrote:Firefox, would it work better with Chrome?
You could try it for yourself, and find out. :D
Desktop: MSI 970A-G43 | AMD FX-8350 | 16GB | GT 740 + triple head | SSD + 3TB ZFS raidz1 | Mint 17.1 Cinnamon x64

wilbobob
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Leicestershire

Re: Google maps

Post by wilbobob » Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:54 pm

I've found that map detail was improved by changing to the Classic version. I recall that there was a click on tab at the bottom of the screen. I can't see that tab to confirm now of course.
Go Steady, but keep going

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Google maps

Post by austin.texas » Sun Jan 25, 2015 3:54 pm

That is true - using this link may give you the desired result:
https://www.google.com/maps?output=classic
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

peterdee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:48 am

Re: Google maps

Post by peterdee » Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:29 pm

Yes, I did try Chrome, no improvement. Then I tried Classic, same result! It's not a huge problem, but it is irritating! thanks for help, any more ideas? Switch to Windows?????!!!!!!!

User avatar
Webtest
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:45 pm
Location: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Google maps

Post by Webtest » Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:18 am

VERY NICE! I have agonized over the new interface to my very favorite, Google Maps, on newer machines (Win 7, etc.) I'll try this out the next time I want to drop back into classic. Thanks for the tip!

Blessings in abundance, all the best, & ENJOY!
Art in Carlisle, PA USA
BOAT - a hole in the water that you pour money into
LINUX - a hole in your life that you pour TIME into

HP dx2400 Core 2 Duo 4 GB - Mint 10 Gnome, Mint 13/15/17.x/18.x Mate <on LOCKED SD cards, and Kanguru USB drives>

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Google maps

Post by austin.texas » Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:30 am

And, of course, there are these alternatives...
http://www.mapquest.com/
https://maps.yahoo.com/
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

peterdee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:48 am

Re: Google maps

Post by peterdee » Tue Jan 27, 2015 4:20 pm

tried Mapquest and Yahoo. Neither seems to give the detail, don't even show buildings.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”