how set default boot to other system?[SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
re4397
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: Brasil

how set default boot to other system?[SOLVED]

Post by re4397 » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:35 pm

the file grub.cfg is ready only mode. How can I edit to boot to other system on startup ?
Last edited by re4397 on Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13749
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by Pjotr » Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:52 pm

You shouldn't edit grub.cfg at all, because that'll be rewritten after each Grub update. You should edit /etc/default/grub instead, and then run sudo update-grub.

If you want to put Windows first in the boot sequence, then you can do that as follows:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... -boot-menu
(item 1, left column)

That should do the job. :)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

fresh_user
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 10:41 am

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by fresh_user » Sat Feb 21, 2015 3:18 pm

You can also use this GUI tool.

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:danielrichter2007/grub-customizer
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install grub-customizer

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8953
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by jimallyn » Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:10 pm

I have used GrubCustomizer. Works well.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

re4397
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by re4397 » Sun Feb 22, 2015 12:21 pm

Thank you for the replies.
I don't know why but I am not receiving emails even when the options " Notify me when a reply is posted" is checked.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7333
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by Flemur » Sun Feb 22, 2015 2:32 pm

You shouldn't edit grub.cfg at all, because that'll be rewritten after each Grub update. You should edit /etc/default/grub instead, and then run sudo update-grub.

Better still is don't run update-grub at all, since it's buggy (sometimes can't keep the UUIDs straight) and makes ugly menus and files, and to keep two copies of grub.cfg, one to restore from if some update has the audacity to run update-grub without being asked to, and changing grub.cfg by hand to take care of the updates (typically for a new kernel, which consists of changing a few numbers).

the file grub.cfg is ready only mode. How can I edit to boot to other system on startup ?

By far the easiest way is to just edit /boot/grub/grub.cfg after making it writable. Make a copy before editing and another after editing.

You'll see and need to change, or add this near the top:

Code: Select all

default=0   # 0=first one
timeout=3
If you want the OS with the 3rd "menuentry" to be default, set "default=2".

Of do it the hard way and put that in some other file and run update-grub to get some ugly grub menus.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

re4397
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by re4397 » Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:53 pm

I changed the file grub in the folder /etc/default to "GRUB_DEFAULT=4" but when I restart the computer it is doing none effect. Why?

User avatar
helloimustbegoing
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 404
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:21 pm

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by helloimustbegoing » Mon Oct 19, 2015 9:18 pm

Why not do it the easy way and install Grub Customizer, like fresh_user recommended? That's the way I did it.

re4397
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by re4397 » Mon Oct 19, 2015 11:45 pm

helloimustbegoing wrote:Why not do it the easy way and install Grub Customizer, like fresh_user recommended? That's the way I did it.
because Grub Customizer is not in the Application Manager.
Is it secury? How install it?

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by austin.texas » Mon Oct 19, 2015 11:49 pm

The link provided by Pjotr is the correct way to do it.
Make Windows the Default Option
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

re4397
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 2:29 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by re4397 » Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:04 am

I forgot of the "sudo update-grub". Now it's working.

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by austin.texas » Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:09 am

I am glad you got it worked out !
Please go to your first post, click EDIT, and add [SOLVED] to the title.

By the way, I quit using Grub Customizer a long time ago because I didn't like what it was doing to my grub files.
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

curtvaughan
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 5:54 pm
Location: Austin, Tx

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by curtvaughan » Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:16 pm

austin.texas wrote:I am glad you got it worked out !
Please go to your first post, click EDIT, and add [SOLVED] to the title.

By the way, I quit using Grub Customizer a long time ago because I didn't like what it was doing to my grub files.
Out of curiosity, what was it doing to your grub files that was objectionable?
Move from rim to hub: know the wheel.

Image

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: how set default boot to other system?

Post by austin.texas » Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:39 am

Sorry for the delay in answering. I was in the mountains in New Mexico for a week - with no internet.
curtvaughan wrote:Out of curiosity, what was it doing to your grub files that was objectionable?
The original Grub installation (/etc/grub.d) looks like this:
I can edit /etc/grub.d/40_custom as much as I want.
originalGrub1.png
Grub Customizer, after repeated changes, changes the files to "proxified" files.
proxifiedGrub1.png
I don't like that. I want them to remain in their original state. It is simpler to edit, and easier to understand.
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

j03k3rr
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 7:03 am

Re: how set default boot to other system?[SOLVED]

Post by j03k3rr » Wed Oct 28, 2015 8:45 am

I have a similar question, for dual boot computers with Mint and WIndows 7 let's say
Windows 7 requires a system restart so I do, and do I really need to select Windows from Grub list? Because my default OS is Mint.

How can I make it so if I restart the OS whether it is Windows or Mint it should restart into last used OS by overriding Grub default OS setting.
How ever after a shutdown -not restart- it should boot default OS.

edit: As to why, well I like to get up and grab a coffee while computer is finishing restart and boot again. For a Win7 running VMware Workstation it can take a while to restart you know.
● Windows 10 Pro 64
VMware Workstation 12 ○ Mint 18 ○ Elementary OS 0.3
● Ubuntu Server 14.04.03 Headless
Virtualbox 5.0.26 ○ Windows 7 64
● Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon 64

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: how set default boot to other system?[SOLVED]

Post by austin.texas » Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:15 am

You can configure Grub to boot the most recently used OS.
Open /etc/default/grub in your text editor as root:

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/default/grub
Make these changes:
GRUB_DEFAULT="saved"
GRUB_SAVEDEFAULT="true"

Save and exit the editor.

Update Grub:

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

j03k3rr
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 7:03 am

Re: how set default boot to other system?[SOLVED]

Post by j03k3rr » Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:37 am

@austin.texas Thanks that should do it.
● Windows 10 Pro 64
VMware Workstation 12 ○ Mint 18 ○ Elementary OS 0.3
● Ubuntu Server 14.04.03 Headless
Virtualbox 5.0.26 ○ Windows 7 64
● Linux Mint 18 Cinnamon 64

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”