Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Mutsuto
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:05 pm

Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by Mutsuto »

Hello,

I'm currently using Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca 32-bit Cinnamon.
I've been using this desktop with this monitor for some time, but I've been using a DVI cable into the monitor, and the audio wire straight into the back of my pc.

I now find myself wanting to connect via hdmi, so that my speakers can be plugged into my monitor instead of my pc [so that when i swap my monitor's input, i don't have to change where the audio wire is connected].

However, I'm not getting any audio into the monitor.

I've double checked all the hdmi's, the hdmi switch and the monitor. they are fine [tested by using wii u to send sound through the hdmi's to the monitor].

I did some googling and found this post:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=153108
and ran the following commands:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-audio-dev/alsa-daily
apt update
apt install oem-audio-hda-daily-dkms

and as was suggested here:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=115677
i've installed pavucontrol

I think the problem lies in the sound setting, as the current selection is "Analogue Output - Built-in Audio", when what i really need is something like "Digital HDMI Output", but as you can see here, there is no such selection:
https://i.imgur.com/0ecjXMH.png

thank you for the help
User avatar
runruckus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by runruckus »

Hi Mutsuto have you tried the pulseaudio control Under- Sound & Video-Pulse Audo Volume Control
There will be a tab-Configuration and a dropdown box below that should show you what you want.
http://imgur.com/PElY0v0
If Not Paste back The Results of

Code: Select all

inxi -A
Regards
“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?”
― A.A. Milne
Mutsuto
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by Mutsuto »

Thank you for your time runruckus.
This is what my sound settings looks like:
https://i.imgur.com/MUpO03d.png
in the drop down menu of "Port" there are only 2 selections, Analogue Output and Headphones.

This is the copy paste from running "inxi -A"

Audio: Card-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
Card-2: Alcor Micro driver: USB Audio
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.13.0-37-generic
User avatar
runruckus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by runruckus »

Ok so go over(Right) two more tabs(at the top) (Configuration) and again the drop down box see if that shows more.
It show you have the driver installed.
“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?”
― A.A. Milne
Mutsuto
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by Mutsuto »

In config there are 2 things:
Built-in Audio
and my webcam.

There are 4 selections under Profile of the Built-in Audio
Analogue Stereo Duplex [currently selected]
Analogue Stereo Output
Analogue Stereo Input
Off

Changing between duplex and output doesn't seem to do anything. I can still hear sound [from the speaker plugged directly into my computer]. I've just checked if changing between these settings effects sound going through the hdmi to my monitor, and it doesn't.
User avatar
runruckus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by runruckus »

That's Odd :o
If you would paste back the results of

Code: Select all

inxi -b
“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?”
― A.A. Milne
Mutsuto
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by Mutsuto »

inxi -b results

System: Host: matt-desktop Kernel: 3.13.0-37-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca
Machine: Mobo: ASRock model: G31M-GS. Bios: American Megatrends version: P1.80 date: 05/20/2011
CPU: Quad core Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8300 (-MCP-) clocked at 2003.00 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA G96 [GeForce 9500 GT]
X.Org: 1.15.1 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau) Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz
GLX Renderer: GeForce 9500 GT/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 331.113
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 3004.6GB (76.0% used)
Info: Processes: 177 Uptime: 8:23 Memory: 1354.7/3219.6MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4

Sorry for the late reply
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by WharfRat »

What do these return

Code: Select all

awk '/Audio/,/Kernel/' <(lspci -k)

Code: Select all

aplay -l

Code: Select all

play -L|grep CARD
ImageImage
User avatar
runruckus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by runruckus »

Now I understand and Please Don't kill the messenger.
"The 9500GT does not support audio or have HDMI out. A DVI-D to HDMI connection carries no audio." :(
Sorry About that! I have one of those I use on a Kodi media box with a soundblaster audio card which is where the sound gets piped through with 5.1 Klipsch speakers.
Rattles the Basement walls :D
Kind Regards
“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?”
― A.A. Milne
Mutsuto
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by Mutsuto »

Damnit.

Well, thank you for your help, and sorry for perplexing you like this.
hpmc13
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by hpmc13 »

runruckus wrote:"The 9500GT does not support audio or have HDMI out. A DVI-D to HDMI connection carries no audio."
I recently replaced a 9500GT and it does have an HDMI output. I had it plugged into my monitor that way, however, my monitor had no speakers. I got sound through the onboard audio and never worried about audio.

It seems that there are a bunch of different 9500GT cards. Mine in particular has an HDMI out.

It seems, somewhere in the dim recesses of my memory, that you have to run a connection between the motherboard or soundcard to the graphics card in order to pass on the audio through HDMI. S/PDIF or something along those lines. Not sure if the 9500GT has the connection, though. Although I may be barking up the wrong tree.
Running LM 20 Cinnamon
User avatar
runruckus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by runruckus »

Here is his from the inxi out put.
http://i.imgur.com/pfG9vXd.png
And he never made mention of SPDIF but yes that is an option!
If his monitor has it.
Legacy Specs
Audio Input for HDMI
SPDIF
From here http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop ... ifications
“It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?”
― A.A. Milne
hpmc13
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by hpmc13 »

runruckus wrote:Here is his from the inxi out put.
http://i.imgur.com/pfG9vXd.png
Right-O, but here's mine, which has the same designation on inxi -Fzx (see attached.)

So, I guess the burning question for the OP is, are you plugging this in from an HDMI port to an HDMI port, -OR- are you using a converter? If it's a converter, then it's simply not going to work.

If it's HDMI to HDMI, I think (operative word there is think) that there's an internal connection that has to be made from the motherboard (if onboard sound) or sound card (if not) to the graphics card. Mentioned here:

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topi ... dmi-audio/
And Here: https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers ... my-hdtv%3F
2) S/PDIF audio pass-through from your onboard or external sound card to an S/PDIF input on your graphics card which is sent along the HDMI cable. Some onboard or add-in sound cards, in addition to providing analog audio output, also feature a digital S/PDIF audio output. The advantage of S/PDIF over analog audio is that since it is a digital audio signal, the sound quality is much cleaner. S/PDIF also can carry compressed multi-channel audio such as Dolby Digital or DTS. If your graphics card is based on a GeForce 9 series, GeForce 100 series or GeForce 200 series (with exception of the GeForce G210, GeForce GT220 or GeForce GT240), it will likely have an internal two-pin S/PDIF input which can connect to your PC's internal S/PDIF output through a custom internal S/PDIF cable. If the graphics card receives a S/PDIF audio signal, the graphics card will pass the audio directly through the HDMI cable to your HDTV. For information on how to connect an S/PDIF cable from your sound controller to your graphics card, please
More here: https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers ... /a_id/2544

Hope I haven't confused the issue more and that I'm not totally off-base on this.
Attachments
14-125-260-04.jpg
Running LM 20 Cinnamon
Mutsuto
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by Mutsuto »

I have no idea what you two are talking about. But the back of my graphics card does not look like this
https://i.imgur.com/pfG9vXd.png
hpmc13
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by hpmc13 »

So, when you plug your monitor into HDMI, are you using an HDMI cable that plugs directly into the monitor and directly into the graphics card? In other words, does the port in the back of the monitor and the port (that you are using) on the graphics card look the same? The reason that it's important is that there is a converter that will allow you to plug an HDMI cable into an DVi-I port. You'll get video, but no sound.

Which picture above does your card look more like?
Running LM 20 Cinnamon
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by WharfRat »

Mutsuto,

If you're not using a cable like this, it's not going to carry sound.
Attachments
cable.jpeg
cable.jpeg (2.73 KiB) Viewed 2300 times
ImageImage
Mutsuto
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by Mutsuto »

I am using a cable like that.

I've used such cables in the past to carry sound, so is it a property/ limitation of my graphics card that this cable type is not appropriate? I believe that is what is being said.
User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13909
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by WharfRat »

Mutsuto wrote:I am using a cable like that.

I've used such cables in the past to carry sound, so is it a property/ limitation of my graphics card that this cable type is not appropriate? I believe that is what is being said.
I don't know where you're plugging in that cable from the attachment you posted here http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 4#p1035564
ImageImage
hpmc13
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by hpmc13 »

WharfRat wrote:I don't know where you're plugging in that cable from the attachment you posted here http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 4#p1035564
Unless it's a typo, he wrote that the back of his card does not look like that:
Mutsuto wrote:I have no idea what you two are talking about. But the back of my graphics card does not look like this
https://i.imgur.com/pfG9vXd.png
There were/are a lot of different flavors of 9500GT cards. Here's Newegg's version of mine: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814125260 which has HDMI out. So I think he does truly have HDMI out on the card.
Running LM 20 Cinnamon
hpmc13
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:26 pm

Re: Sound not coming through HDMI cable into my monitor

Post by hpmc13 »

Mutsuto wrote:I've used such cables in the past to carry sound, so is it a property/ limitation of my graphics card that this cable type is not appropriate? I believe that is what is being said.
No, not by me, anyway. There is some confusion around whether or not you have an actual HDMI port on the graphics card itself. Some versions of the 9500GT had HDMI output, some didn't. Mine has HDMI output, and I'm assuming that yours does as well.

Having Googled around on this, I really believe that you have to connect a small cable from your motherboard to your 9500GT so that it can pass the audio signal through HDMI. The graphics card is just a graphics card and will only pass the sound through.
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topi ... d-problem/

However - and I should have done this first - I looked up your MOBO manual (http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/G31M-GS/?cat=Manual) and there's no mention of S/PDIF output. I also could not find an S/PDIF header on the MOBO picture. So, while I believe that your 9500GT can do it, your MOBO cannot. So, after all of that, I believe that there's no way to do it through HDMI.
Running LM 20 Cinnamon
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”