Windows libraries in Linux (for organizing files)

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
SSorcerer

Windows libraries in Linux (for organizing files)

Post by SSorcerer »

Using Mint 17.2 Cinnamon.

Since changing from windows to Linux one thing that I'm missing are the libraries (http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... -libraries).

I want to organize folders based on subjects that I'm studying, they'll have videos, documents, etc. So libraries were perfect for that since I didn’t need to move the files from their original place (or replicate them) to easily access them from the library folder.

Any way to do that in Mint ?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
phd21
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Windows libraries in Linux (for organizing files)

Post by phd21 »

Hi SSorcerer,

This seems a little redundant to me, because you can just organize your folders and files by name (subject matter) into sub-folders and files using any file manager in Linux, MS Windows, or Mac, like creating a folder for pictures called "Pictures" or "My_Pictures", or for music files in a folder called "Music" or "My Music", etc...